Poets logo

A blank canvas

Choosing love over fear

By Emmy BPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2
A blank canvas
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Vibrant choices paint my canvas, day's new light,

where pathways branch, and shadows dance in fear.

Each breath: a stroke on love's palette, bold and bright.

*

That flutter in your stomach, moths of fears alight,

Stand in the way, diluting moments held so dear,

Vibrant choices paint my canvas, day's new light.

*

Can we trust what we see, discern the wrong from right?

So often I've looked back, challenged to hold dear

each breath: a stroke on love's palette, bold and bright.

*

So easy to hide, embraced by fight or flight,

Are the paths we choose of love or ones of fear?

Vibrant choices paint my canvas, day's new light.

*

Heart-centered or lurking thoughts, companions in our soul's fight,

compel us to confront unease, to engineer

each breath: a stroke on love's palette, bold and bright.

*

May you and I, to all the world's delight,

Listen to our hearts, renounce that anxious steer.

Vibrant choices paint my canvas, day's new light.

Each breath: a stroke on love's palette, bold and bright.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Emmy B

I write some of my truths, and use words to weave stories and ideas together. Writing is a passion and an outlet for me and I hope to inspire, challenge, or simply be a reflection of others's experiences - to make people feel seen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • k eleanor5 months ago

    I love this poem! Especially this part 'So easy to hide, embraced by fight or flight, Are the paths we choose of love or ones of fear?' 💘💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.