Poets logo

A Better Me

“Happy I Made It”

By Tecoria SavagePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

When I asked for loyalty you lied to me.

Gave him 8 inches of what you couldn’t have for we.

Took me for granted but didn’t break my integrity.

You were worthless just like your family tree

Now my angel is saying be better than thee.

Your the upmost highest and always land on your feet.

Getting nothing but respect and your dignity.

Your love by most and hated by few,

with a heart of gold you stay solid and true.

You love hard and never the less

but every poem that you write is outta sight.

The songs that you sing have the dopest lean.

And while your twisting your fingers your looking mean.

But it’s always a respect thing and who hears me.

Like marching in the streets or singing in the choir.

I’m me with no backing down, I fight to be free and always for what’s right.

My heart may be cold,

but my body is on fire,

and as I stand in a crowd I know there are so many liars.

Scared of who, oh you, never knew, can’t be true!

I’m a proud citizen of nothing but color.

So watch what you say and that’s a fact

because i’m beautiful but when I’m mad all I see is black.

God told me he loves me laying on that table.

Whispers in my ear happy you made.

So fight back my lady,

Ruby oh baby,

Your better than what they thought,

Humble and Crazy!

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Tecoria Savage

Poetry is for the soul, speak the words of wisdom and love. My words are loving for Justice for the world and my community. To settle arguments for families that are in need. Respecting the ones that can’t and settling for the truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.