Poets logo

A Better Man

Wishin'...

By The Vivid DreamerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
A Better Man
Photo by Alex Ivashenko on Unsplash

They say “I should release”.

Really, I need peace.

Time away from the city elements

And all the busy streets.

When I look around me

That’s how busy you’ve been…

Love is iffy.

How it has us confused with

Silly games and foolishness.

No one had to explain the

Difference to me.

I fell but claimed I stumbled.

I felt your waters.

I knew they were trouble.

If only none of this could have been

It still wouldn’t have made you

A better man, no.

A better man, no.

If only had we been;

We could’ve been winning, oh now oh

Wishin’

don’t make you a better man,

A better man.

They say “I should forgive”

Whose life did you live?

I shared the best years of my

Life with you.

You were all take;

No give

So slanderous, no fucks

How I lived

I’m so hurt, my anger

Is misplaced.

Shamed me to disgrace!

My heart’s in the casket

While your’s in the safe!

Wishin’ don’t make you a better man

A better man...

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

The Vivid Dreamer

Awkward to love. Quick to give. My reality is within my words. Esteemed Queen saved me. My life is a bestseller.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.