Poets logo

A better man

She made me a better man, and for that I am grateful

By Kainã Padilha EliasPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
A better man
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

When I saw her, it went from impossible to inexorable;

The words lingered in my mouth, but did not come out;

The library was the place she was when I laid my eyes upon;

And the library was the recurrent place to go from then on;

Days passed by where I did not read a single book;

Seeing her for a few hours a day was all it took;

There was no resemblance from my former self;

I was hooked, I just couldn’t anymore be myself;

What if I wasn’t enough? This shouldn’t be this tough;

I could try sounding confident, but she would call my bluff;

I didn’t care about girls before. Shall I repent and disremember?

Well, before I decided it was already December;

Classes were over, holidays were upon us;

Would I have the courage to talk to her on the bus?

No, I wouldn’t. There she went, away for weeks;

And suddenly my skin shrieks;

I can’t let her go, I can’t let her leave;

I need to see her, I need to make her perceive;

Courage was gathered;

But when I walked up to her, my heart shattered;

I could see him, another boy, sitting by her;

All of my wishes would stay as they were;

Wishes only, nothing more than intangible objects;

I sat down and thought about projects;

Yes, projects;

All the things I would do on the holydays would be for her;

Everything was her;

I would work on myself, physically and mentally;

I would become a better version of myself and it would not be accidentally;

It fueled me, her that is;

It got me going to do this;

And I did not stop;

I wanted to get to the top;

Once I started, I realized how amazingly well I felt;

The process of improvement gave me a sense of self;

I would wake up and exercise;

I would read until my brain grew in size;

When I returned to the library weeks after, there she was again;

Oh God, she could have all the men;

She looked even more beautiful than before;

She was everything I ever asked for;

Her eyes were like emeralds recently polished;

Her hair was ruby, still unpolished;

The confidence that I gained made everything easy;

And our conversation was almost cheesy;

Her smile made me smile;

And her words had style;

Rather, they were hard;

It made her sound so smart;

For once, I was glad I took upon reading;

For I too knew the meaning of embedding;

“What is your favorite book?” She asked;

“Dante’s Inferno.” I answered;

She was impressed, and I was too;

How could such a beautiful angel be true?

We spent hours talking about books;

By the end of it, I realized it was not only the looks;

That girl was special in so many ways;

I could see myself by her in the end of my days;

It wasn’t long until I realized I was better with her;

No matter when or where we were;

We pushed each other;

We loved each other;

After so many years and so many kids;

I am still so in love with her, God forbid;

Sometimes I even thank the boy at the bus;

For if it wasn’t for him, I would not be ready for us;

I learned that being a better person brings joy to all around me;

Even without talking to her, back then she already molded who I was going to be;

A better man for my woman;

A better man for society;

A better man

Thank you, my love

love poems

About the Creator

Kainã Padilha Elias

Hello!

Brazilian writer living in the United States.

Thank you for taking the time to read my stories.

My book:

https://www.amazon.com/Red-Gene-Trinity-Kaina-Padilha-Elias/dp/B08LNFVMCV

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kainã Padilha EliasWritten by Kainã Padilha Elias

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.