Poets logo

A beautiful mind, stilled at 16

A POEM OR AN OMEN FOR THE GIFTED CHILD

By Novel AllenPublished 3 years ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
3

WHILE MISSING PERSONS STATISTICS ARE COMPILED FOR EVERY OTHER DEMOGRAPHIC, NONE EXISTS FOR NATIVE AMERICAN WOMEN.

NO ONE KNOWS HOW MANY ARE MISSING.

THIS INFORMATION WAS FROM 3 YEARS AGO. IT IS MY HOPE THAT THIS SITUATION HAS CHANGED.

````````````````

I watched the movie WIND RIVER. It was made 2017 or 2018. This film is based on a true story. The poem is from the movie, I am a little late to the table, but I, like many others, found the words to be profoundly moving and beautiful.

The poem is discussed in depth by many on social media. Yet the true gist of the story seemed to have been missed. Native American women are being victimized. They are targeted for their ethnicity, abused, killed and goes missing without anyone but their loved ones noticing and caring.

Please read the poem, if you have not yet done so, and even if you have, read it again.

Poem posted on June 25, 2018

"A MEADOW IN MY PERFECT WORLD"

“There is a meadow in my perfect world

where wind dances the branch of a tree,

casting leopard spots of light across the face of a pond.

The tree stands tall and grand,

and alone,

shading the world beneath it.

There will come a day

when I rest against its spine and look out over a valley

where the sun warms but never burns.

I will watch leaves turn.

Green, then amber, then crimson.

Then no leaves at all.

But the tree will not die.

For in this place, winter never comes…

It is here,

in the cradle of all I hold dear,

I guard every memory of you.

And when I find myself frozen

in the mud of the real — far from your loving eyes,

I will return to this place, close mine, and take solace

in the simple perfection

of knowing you.”

Emily Lambert

Wind River (2017)

~~~~~~~~~

A young Native American young girl wrote the words shortly before she went missing, and was found dead in the snowy woods of Wyoming in the dead of winter. I am quoting from the movie, facts may have been altered a bit.

The writing of this one poem got her accepted into the Colorado State University writing program.

The words will make you cry. The beauty of the poem will haunt you, as it haunts me. I have to document my thoughts.

When asked of her father if the poem were written for him, he, in reminiscing, thoughtfully said; "It does not matter for whom it was written, what matters is who it is from."

The aspiring writer in me saw the beauty of the movie, the intent of the creators. In making this poem the heart of the movie they captured the full essence of the pain and suffering of a race of people whom time seems to have forgotten. Especially the mothers and young daughters of our indigenous people.

Hearts were appeased when, after a second young woman aged 18 also disappeared and was found dead. The perpetrators were brought to justice.

I would certainly find my heart's home, were I to find myself writing poetry as beautiful as this.

I aspire to have the words flow from my pen that would make someone want to cry. I cried for this lovely child, and the words that she could and would have written had it not been for the monstrous actions of some lost and ill advised souls.

I found in the simplicity, honesty and depth of the poem, a kind of home to which I can revisit and find inspiration when words or thoughts elude me.

Rest in peace, little one.

Thank you for the gift of your words.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    Sadly the poem can’t haunt me. I know too much, and it’s just another cut to a flayed soul. Thank you for your words of kindness. Hers is a loss that words alone cannot express. We will miss her. We will remember her.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.