Poets logo

A Beary Good Memory

There's More Than Cookies in That Jar

By A. J. SchoenfeldPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Grandma's Cookie Jar, Worn and Well Loved

His welcoming smile and wide eyes

Transport me back through time and space

To a simpler place

The comforting warmth of Grandma's kitchen

Where he stood vigil day after day

I pull off his hat

Careful of the cracks that have always been there

I reach in for my waiting treat

It's easier now

As I child I had to stand on my tippy toes

My arm twisting uncomfortably over the lip

While my tiny fingers brush the smooth porcelain

Searching blindly

Reaching deeper

Stretching further

Finally they find the rough edge of the cookie

My fingers scissor together on either side

Pulling it free

I take a bite

The silkiness of the sweet smooth icing

Contrast perfectly with the crumbly crunchy cookie

The simplicity of the slightly spicy oatmeal

Paired with a plain but sugary coating

This is my childhood in a circular snack

Uncomplicated

When Grandma’s hugs chased away all my hurt

And a smile could be found in the bottom

Of a cookie jar

For Fun
2

About the Creator

A. J. Schoenfeld

I only write about the real world. But if you look close enough, you'll see there's magic hiding in plain sight everywhere.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Aww, nostalgic. Gotta love the cookie jar.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I love this little journey into that simple cookie.

  • TheSpinstress2 months ago

    So sweet! I love the way grandmas' houses are always full of things that take us right back to childhood.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.