Poets logo

90 to 25

The reason I slowed us down

By Tanner PeifferPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

90 to 25 miles an hour over the course of the week

I didn’t even notice, oh

The way my passion slowed

As smoke slipped over burning metal

And over the moon I rowed

Down to the surface again

***

I don’t know how we got this way, or how to express myself

I left my cleanest vial of thought on an unavailable shelf

I don’t know how we got this way, but please forgive my soul

For taking you down a bottomless yet body-crushing hole

***

Hold me tighter so I don’t fall off

The bench we lie on together

As soon as you cry, my tears slip out

Like the state of my mind is tethered

To the father of my found family

***

From the moonglow in the park to J.R.’s impressive bark

From my smirk across the table to that house of seven gables

You said a fresh coat of paint and she’ll look brand new

You had the name of a saint and you acted it too

***

From the showerhead rain to the crimson pain

In each of our goodbyes

From the stick shift dance to your side eyed glance

With loving hazel eyes

***

From the moments when I doubted to the moments I felt free

From the moments when we posed together for sculpted eternity

You had my back, you had my mind, you had my desire to be

A father to your children, if they should come to be

***

But somewhere over the rainbow we couldn’t find the way

To the corner of Caravaggio, Rockwell and Manet

And we painted a color the audience hated

So they wished our tether dead

You painted a color too vintage for me

So they painted my lifetime red

***

And I might know how we got this way

But don’t let me fall off the edge

Just let me keep breathing your old cologne

Like the world is only this bench

And I might know how we got this way

Through time’s most twisted joke

But as long as my heart is on fire

I’ll look for you in the smoke

***

You’re my gold conductor, silver friend

With a trace of scarlet left behind

I’ll give you my stone to wear on your neck

With hope for a peaceful mind

***

You left your mark on the curb, a mark on your tire

You started a midnight suburban fire

Where my ashes had floated aimlessly

You put me together flawlessly

***

And as soon as you cry, my tears slip out

For sadness, for love and for joy

But even though we can’t be together

I’ll always be your boy

heartbreaklove poemssad poetryfact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Tanner Peiffer

I'm an aspiring poet, writing from both personal experiences and surreal concepts, with the goal of inspiring anyone who may read. I hope my art can strike a chord and shift a perspective or two. 20 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • James Davisabout a year ago

    By the time this heartbreaking but necessary night was done you wrote this fluid masterful poem. You are truly amazing and you do inspire me now and forever 💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.