Poets logo

43

I knew

By Beth Imperial-RogersPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
43
Photo by Beatriz Pérez Moya on Unsplash

I knew,

but did not know,

when I met you

when we said “I love you”

when we said “I do”

when we said “for the rest of life”

when we got jobs

when we had cash

when we made a home

when kids were born

when life was good

when we lost jobs

when we did not have cash

when kids got sick

when dads and mom died

when life was hard

when kids left home

when we left work

when we left home

when we went to a new spot

when life was made anew.

Now I know,

at year 43.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Beth Imperial-Rogers

Social worker, teacher, maker of all sorts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)10 months ago

    Nice Piece 💖📝💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.