Poets logo

28 - Control

30 Days, 30 Stories

By Elizabeth ButlerPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

28 - Control

The first thing I see is the darkness,

Even when I open my eyes wide.

Before the boredom creeps in,

The light above is seen,

A heavily light.

The atmosphere changes,

I am no longer unable to see.

The room I find myself in doesn’t provide much light,

But it better than where I was trapped inside.

My eyes crane, staring to the side.

An old wooden chest that is bolted from the outside.

I sigh, taking in my surroundings.

The place reminds me of a changing room,

Posters hang from dry walls,

Nic Nacs from long ago scattered around the place,

Feathers and notes flying around.

An old open wardrobe,

Showing a full suit top and tail.

Bright lights in the corner blind my tiny eyes,

A dozen bulbs lighting up the room around one smudgy mirror.

Underneath, a desk,

No, a dressing table!

My guess was correct.

Clothes drape from the top of the mirror,

Falling to the ground.

Makeup of many lying around.

Powder puffs in compacts, lipstick, and rouge.

I look up, gazing at the being above.

A woman,

Dressed formally, her suit and bow tie reflecting in front of her.

She grabs a top hat from the messy table holding me up to her face.

“This is it.”

She tells me, taking one deep breath in.

In the moment we start to walk,

My body in contact with her palm.

The atmosphere turns much darker,

The sounds around us become more amplified,

The sounds of chatter and gossip.

From the little I can see,

We are standing in front of a closed curtain

When slowly they begin to depart from each other,

They reveal a crowd that cheers and claps,

I jingle around in her hand as she steps in front,

Taking a bow.

To the side,

A paper set, just like the one we are standing on,

But a much smaller scale.

I am placed in front,

Standing on paper wood.

Strings start to fly from my body,

I didn’t know I even had.

I feel a yank from my back,

The joints in my legs and arms feel under control.

I stare up at the woman being,

She has my strings wrapped around her fingers.

Without any time to question,

I begin to move from side to side.

This feel is odd?

I am not in control of my ligaments?

The strange, being above,

That who is in control of me now.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Butler

Elizabeth Butler has a masters in Creative Writing University .She has published anthology, Turning the Tide was a collaboration. She has published a short children's story and published a book of poetry through Bookleaf Publishing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.