Poets logo

25 - Flame

30 Stories, 30 Days

By Elizabeth ButlerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

25 - Flame

The first thing I notice is the smell,

putrid, foul smelling

Like leather in a factory.

The smoke rises up

The grey fumes building up around me.

The flames burst into light of oranges, yellows and reds,

my eyes stunned by its brightness.

I cough vigorously,

the dark foggy smoke bunches up inside my throat,

making it difficult to even breathe.

The colours, they dance in front of me,

like ballerinas at a concert.

I can feel myself drifting,

Once I could distinguish features,

now only bouncing flames.

I am overwhelmed by the sound,

crackling under foot, just like leaves in autumn.

Crack, pop!

The wood I had been resting on breaks into two halves,

I struggle on my hands and knees,

My face at smoke level.

The roaring fire echoes all around,

All I see now is foggy oranges appearing as flames to me.

I crouch under cracking wood,

the structure isn’t going to hold for much longer,

but I keep trailing onwards.

Smoke trapped inside my lungs,

My eyelids beginning to feel heavy

trying not to close them as I scurry taking every step.

I see open fields,

the skies ahead, even though things have turned to night.

I misplace my palm where the smoke lays,

I fall straight ahead,

toppling over on my back,

now stuck in a situation

I don’t know exactly how I’m trapped,

but something is blocking my way out,

I push,

With the power I have,

It may just be enough.

BANG.

My entrance suddenly turns dark.

I try to move, but it is near impossible.

I feel the weight of legs on my back.

A horse. A horse that had tumbled right on to me.

I take a deep breath in,

I won’t let the smoke reach my organs,

My back cracks under the pressure,

the horse above is still alive..

but not for long,

and neither will I.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Butler

Elizabeth Butler has a masters in Creative Writing University .She has published anthology, Turning the Tide was a collaboration. She has published a short children's story and published a book of poetry through Bookleaf Publishing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.