Poets logo

27th March 2023

Who do I speak to about the stars?

By VJHDPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Photo from PicCollage app

Who do I speak to about the stars?

I couldn’t choose just one to name

As none of them seemed bright enough

Sometimes I think maybe it’s me

Perhaps I can’t see the shine

Through all the tears in my eyes

But today, as the sun is setting

I’m looking up towards the stars

Wondering which one might be

Bright enough to be his star?

Who do I speak to about the stars?

I need to ask a favour of the moon

Tonight, can all the lights be brighter

Lit up like 59 birthday candles?

Tonight through tears and sadness

I need somewhere to look to

When I wish my Dad a heavenly birthday

So when I close my eyes in heartbreak

It will be like he blew the candles out

On the birthday cake we made without him

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

THANKYou for reading 🕊️

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

VJHD

The subsistence of our lives will live on in our words, forever encapsulating our feelings.

Words are the centre point of our existence. If we never write anything down, did we ever really exist at all?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.