Poets logo

2023

Standing Tall In My Future.

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
2023
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

You, you let me down,

Yeah, You,

You left me on the ground,

You, you left me bruised,

Yeah, you.

You told me not to make a sound.

Nobody was there, to walk with me

through the pain.

Nobody else felt the tears I cried,

Just like the rain.

The lightning struck,

but I never let it strike me

down.

The thunder roared,

but I still wore my crown.

You, you tried to keep me on the ground,

Yeah, you said I was crazy,

Made my head spin around.

Now, now it's 2023,

And, it's time for everyone to see;

Yeah, you,

You no longer have a hold on me.

And, I will climb higher than I have ever been;

I will reach for those dreams, you told me could

never be seen.

I will bring the thunder down to the ground,

And, I will turn my life around;

I will light up the sky brighter than has

Ever been seen,

Because I can live without you,

And I can achieve my dreams.

Did you enjoy my poem? Please send a heart of appreciation and let me know. You can also leave me an optional tip.

Tips support my work and enable me to keep creating.

To see more of my work, please visit my profile, and subscribe so that you can be updated on my future work.

Thank you for reading my work.

social commentaryslam poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Love this poem , this poem rock 💪🏼

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Hi there Carol, been a while. It's not always sunshine and roses is it? I hope the new year is much better than the old one for us all. Your poem resonated with me though I try very hard to be positive. New year new dreams. I liked the honesty of the poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.