Poets logo

20 - FALL

30 Stories, 30 Days

By Elizabeth ButlerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

20 - Fall

Speeding down

Not being able to see my life in motion

the Sky,

the wind gushing

around my body,

my heart pounding

just like a drum

As I breathe,

my lungs finding it harder,

my head starts to gush,

dropping

dropping

dropping

and then

Just the feeling of being still

like I am flying on top of a lake

My body still feels as though

it is falling

but it’s different,

it’s less

Rapid.

I begin to float,

with more ease,

more at peace,

I touch the tips of the clouds with my fingers,

it resembles that of calm water,

I was just

falling

in a wind swept sea,

but

even though

I am falling,

I fall steadily,

a chance to catch a glimpse

at the world below, the world becoming closer as I drift though the skies,

just floating.

Where I land with a

THUMP.

My mind falling back down to reality.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Butler

Elizabeth Butler has a masters in Creative Writing University .She has published anthology, Turning the Tide was a collaboration. She has published a short children's story and published a book of poetry through Bookleaf Publishing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.