Poets logo

17

poem about seventeen

By Em HoccanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
17
Photo by Sean Musil on Unsplash

17

I had a dream last night

Where I made my may

Through vine woven gates

Into a stairway filled

with chatty people

In their polo shirts and levis

Stiff wax figurines

their faces printed with smiles;

Unaffected as I approach;

I wait for them to open a way

My friend comes from behind me

Barely grazing my arm

but not quite for our skin to touch

She didn't see me; Neither Mrs. K

Who finally let go of the doorway

I make my way

Suddenly I find my self

In a large auditorium

Filled with people I know

Gathered on chairs

Arranged in a semi circle

Some scattered here and there

Chatting loud to my eyes

But like a quiet underwater dream

Where I could only hear

The clicks of my white stilettos

As my long legs peaked through

The risqe Armani gown,

plunging down to my stomach

And

Hmmmm.... I say in a sad harmony

Young and sweet, only seventeen

I play the words in my mind

With certain steps of uncertainty.

I brush past the auras of

all I knew and all I know

In search of a seat

Possibly saved for some one else

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Em Hoccane

Creative writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.