Poets logo

128

(2016)

By Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
128
Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

If I could rip the flesh from my body

So I could save you

I would tell death

Through every drop of blood

It was worth the pain.

If I could spend one more day

To hear your voice

To see your eyes open again

I wouldn’t let it go to waste.

Now that you’re gone, something’s missing

A friend who cared for everyone,

No matter who they would be

Now that you’re gone,

I don’t know what to do

I’m glad I had the privilege to know you.

Dear friend, as I say goodbye for the last time

It feels like I shouldn’t be saying anything at all

It’s much too soon

It’s much too early

To lose someone that meant something to me.

My friend, I miss you

Everyday you’re in my head

I remember the conversations we had

I remember the things we said

The fun had in such short time

It was worth every second

Of the days you were here.

You were supposed to live

You had a life ahead of you

You were supposed to love

You weren’t supposed to leave us so soon.

Because now, a part of me is gone

And now, I don’t think I’ll ever be the same

The sun may rise, but it will always be the same dawn

Because it feels like tomorrow never came.

Dear friend, I’m not ready for this

Then and again, I don’t think anyone else is

And as you leave, you will never depart

The thoughts in my head

Of what could’ve been

A life

Fully lived.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.