Poets logo

12/20/22

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8

There’s work to be done

Later we can have fun

Emotions and desires

Stuffed down

To the point of drowning

In our own fear

Keep yourself always busy

A dizzying array

A hollow display of righteousness

Keeping all close to your chest

There’s nothing left

But a hallway

Of memories

Of a life that could have been

The seas of life

Inundated with strife

Be a good son or daughter

Be a good husband and father

Be a good mother and wife

But never wander too far

Childhood pain waxing and waning

Hostile environments

Is all we get

When existence is sin

Bleeding tomes

Trying to keep our homes

Keeping ourselves

From falling apart at the heart

Told, “I will fear no evil, for you are with me”

But you left me long ago

When you wrote off my soul

A wash in a litany of fear

But it has passed over and through me

My old mind obliterated

A little death

Of righteousness and ego

I have faced my fear

The loss of her

My love

And yet I remain

Because she remains with me

I have opened my inner eye

The path is laid before me

A new irreligious religion

Making me new and whole again

I walk with peace of mind

Into the blind unknowing

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
8

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    I felt the breathless pace of this in the beginning, & then it slowed down so we could breathe in the end. Nice job!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    The middle of your poem reminds me of Jamaica Kincaid's "Girl." Those everyday, rote things were are taught to be or do.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    I can wholly relate to this as having dealt with the passing of my brother while caring for my very ill mother and having faced my own life threatening illness - all at the same time. I get where you're coming from Eric. Excellent poem - well written.

  • Great work

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is incredible. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.