Poets logo

10th of December

a poem

By simran sadangiPublished 5 months ago 2 min read
5
10th of December
Photo by Saad Chaudhry on Unsplash

On the tenth of December, warm smiles intertwine,

Bodies collide, we kiss, we laugh, we play our part so fine.

In the car, we drive afar, back to separate lives,

Worlds apart, my favourite roses, a gift for our hearts thrives.

The night we adored, excitement and fear entwined,

Nervous and scared, yet in this life, never felt safer, we find.

A single plate, shared bites, laughs, and cries,

Tears held at bay until you left, alone with goodbyes.

Now the petals fall, once vibrant, now torn,

Scents of safety, warmth that embraced, a memory worn.

Left behind, a cold scar, as we ventured afar,

Tears in my eyes, tired of begging for more, understanding fate's bizarre.

Our little bubble, a world for a few fleeting hours,

Now falling apart, crumbling like delicate flowers.

Yet, I knew this would happen from the very start,

As we part ways, taking it all in stride, breaking my heart.

This is the end, or is there more to endure?

A certainty of end, together but apart, we secure.

Recalling the love I poured, the care you bestowed,

Yet, I was a child, for you let me be, they say I'm too mature, I suppose.

Goals we set, the year ends, friends we remain,

But do friends remember each other's scents, a lingering refrain?

Fate, remorseless, separates our core,

Gently we part, slow and steady, separation anxiety, a feeling I abhor.

But you were never mine from the start,

A bittersweet journey, tearing us apart.

As we part ways, taking it all in stride,

Forever etched in memory, a love that couldn't abide.

--------------------------------------------------------------

THANKS FOR READING.

~ I hope you enjoyed reading this poem, I am not a poet nor am I good at poetry but, this piece contains a piece of my heart so I hope you all liked it.

Copyright © SimranSadangi2023. All rights reserved. This work, including all content and original ideas, is protected by copyright law. No part of this publication may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without the prior written permission of the author, except in the case of brief quotations embodied in critical reviews and certain other noncommercial uses permitted by copyright law. For permission requests, please contact [email protected].

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakart
5

About the Creator

simran sadangi

In the realm of words, I'm a dreamer and explorer,

An ordinary soul, but different in the prose I conjure.

Welcome to my page, where thoughts take flight,

Hope you find something to delight, both day and night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rakesh Sahu 3 months ago

    Feels like my own thoughts 😊.

  • This was so wonderful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.