Photography logo

Why I As a Photographer can and Will Flourish on Vocal.Media

Blending my art with my writing.

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published about a month ago 3 min read
Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

“You will never make money as an art photographer, they are unicorns in the trade”. This was the advice I got from a photographer many years ago when I was starting. Unfortunately, he wasn't wrong. I will share more on that statement further in this article. The main purpose of this is to show you how I have found peace and happiness in creating two loves of mine, photography and writing. I never thought it would be something I should do, but I have recently learned how healing the process is for me, and that every picture has a story.

I have been taking pictures since I was a young adult which has been almost 20+ years now. The desire to create and capture this beautiful world has always been something I have been drawn to. My ability to capture emotions in people, children, and weddings has been a God-given gift that I am so thankful to have. I have spent years crafting my trade and evolving that gift to where it is today.

Taking photos of families, people, and events can make you good money. It is very hard work and requires a lot of investment and skill. My desire however is to take photos that are more for an art and display of God's creation and our surroundings uniquely and creatively. The world and the sky is full of so much. There are countless ways to capture the beauty we are surrounded by and I am finding new joy in that.

Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

How will Vocal help me flourish as a photographer? It is simple really. If you ask any photographer about a picture they took, they will tell you that each one has a story. It’s a frozen moment captured, but as a photographer we witnessed the real-life playing out of that moment. We anticipated the scene, the emotion building, and froze it in time to be remembered forever. The other aspect is the wonderful number of challenges that vocal.media offers. This will allow me to push the creative envelope and force me to step above and beyond my one ideas. This to me is very exciting!

Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

I am now starting to go back and look at all my images from the last twenty years and I am remembering the stories, the inspiration, feelings they bring back. I am putting them into words, which sometimes look like poetry, stories, life lessons, struggles, redemption, or whatever fits the scene. This has been a huge step forward for me. It also allows me to push my creative juices more. Signing up for writer prompts, looking for ways to create more writing, and finding or capturing a new photograph and putting it on display here for Vocal.Media readers with the story that inspired it. To me, that's incredibly exciting!

Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

Much of my new work is of the night sky and deep-space objects. There is so much to be seen out there, that much of it is missed and overlooked because we have lost the desire to look up. I hope to encourage more and more to always look up, and keep looking up. Read that any way you want, but my point is “Never give up!” I may not be the “Photography Artist Unicorn” who makes money from all this, but my heart and desire to keep sharing my work will never stop, and this is why I will flourish on Vocal.Media.

Author Note: Thanks for reading, commenting, and sharing. My writing is a part of my healing process. I am a broken spirit, a fallen sinner, but I am a forgiven child of God. That is why I share my vulnerable heart with all. Thank you for your support.

how tocareer

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sarah Wilcoxabout a month ago

    This! 👏 you are very inspiring!

Nagoh Creative (Greg)Written by Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.