Photography logo

The Blue Moon Supermoon

August 30, 2023

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
71
Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat - creativeramblings.com

A few weeks ago, I shared my photos of the Full Sturgeon Moon on Vocal. You can see the story below.

With the Full Sturgeon Moon happening on August 1st, I knew that we would have a Blue Moon Supermoon during the last day of this month. I wanted to document the event with my camera and show you some photos.

First thing first, though. What is a Blue Moon? Nothing to do with the color. The term applies to the second full moon in a calendar month. There is another (much older) definition, which, this time, focuses on the astronomical season. If there is an extra full moon (four events instead of three) during that season, the third event will be called a Blue Moon. You would then have a year with 13 full moons rather than the usual 12.

(The first definition is the most commonly followed these days.)

In any case, the term is used to designate something that only occurs every two and a half years on average. So, it is quite rare. But not as rare as getting two Blue Moons in one year. According to The Old Farmer’s Almanac, the last event dates back to 2018, while the next one will not be here until 2037!

Fascinating, isn't it?

Well, wait until I tell you (again) about the word "supermoon," which was coined by astrologer Richard Nolle at the end of the 1970s. A supermoon happens during a full or new moon, when our natural satellite is closest to the Earth in orbit. The result is a larger- and brighter-than-usual show in the sky. How much larger? Apparently, around 10-11%.

And now, let me add another interesting fact: This Blue Moon Supermoon is the closest and brightest moon of 2023! How close? Around 222,000 miles or 357,000 kilometers!

While doing some research, I also discovered that this specific supermoon coincides with a Hindu festival that celebrates the bond between brothers and sisters—Rakhi Purnima or Raksha Bandhan.

On this day, sisters of all ages tie a talisman or amulet called the rakhi around the wrists of their brothers. They symbolically protect them, receive a gift in return, and traditionally invest the brothers with a share of the responsibility of their potential care.

Raksha Bandhan is observed on the last day of the Hindu lunar calendar month of Shraavana, which typically falls in August. The expression "Raksha Bandhan" (Sanskrit, literally "the bond of protection, obligation, or care") is now principally applied to this ritual.

- Source: Wikipedia

(I love learning new things!)

And now, time to share my photos.

I started my session at around 11 pm last night. Clouds were moving across the Moon, which made it look a little otherworldly.

About half an hour later, the sky was finally clear!

There are tall trees around my backyard, so I wanted to use branches to cover part of the Moon and create an eclipse-like effect. The result is very cool, if you ask me!

Last shot of the night...

For those interested in particulars, here are the settings I used:

  • Camera: Nikon D750
  • Lens: Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 200-500mm f/5.6E ED
  • ISO: 100
  • Focal length: 500 mm
  • Aperture: f/11
  • Exposure: 1/125

Please note that I did not edit my shots.

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

---

Cendrine Marrouat is a writer, photographer, podcaster, blogger, anthology editor, and the co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms and A Warm Cup of Cozy. She has authored and co-authored more than 40 books, including The Train: A Short Story (2023), In Her Own Words: A Collection of Short Stories & Flashku (2022), After the Fires of Day: Haiku Inspired by Kahlil Gibran & Alphonse de Lamartine (2021), Rhythm Flourishing: A Collection of Kindku and Sixku (2020), Walks: A Collection of Haiku (2019-2020), and In the Silence of Words: A Three-Act Play (2018).

Cendrine's work has appeared in many publications. She is the creator of the Sixku, Flashku, Sepigram, and Reminigram; as well as the co-creator of the Kindku, Pareiku, Vardhaku, and Hemingku.

arthow tocamera
71

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (45)

Sign in to comment
  • Amin4 months ago

    wonderfull!! check out my article that helps to see the full moon with the best view !! https://vocal.media/photography/best-binoculars-to-buy

  • rose amy4 months ago

    Great

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Wonderful photos!

  • Abdullah6 months ago

    I liked your photos

  • Gina C.6 months ago

    Gorgeous work and so informative, Cendrine! 😍 I really thought I'd seen this one, but I guess not! Wonderful read! So sorry I haven't been around lately. I'll be back soon to catch up on more of your amazing work! 🤗

  • Torsten Vogler7 months ago

    very nice photos

  • Mark vetter7 months ago

    You have another super coming!

  • Mark vetter8 months ago

    The old idea that the moon was made of green cheese, Now suspected to be made of better tasting blue cheese.

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    I love this! Thank you for those beautiful photos! I felt as if the blue moon were staring back at me! I did go out and look at it for a while on the day. It was lovely and bright! I am a stargazer (without any equipment mind you) and I love stuff like this!

  • Cyril Lord8 months ago

    This is amazingly great, I also have something about this....

  • Pius Junior 8 months ago

    Interesting this is so lovely please view my also

  • These photos are amazing 🤩 and I loved all the information you shared! Great piece and congratulations 🎉

  • Kristy Anderson8 months ago

    Gorgeous pics!

  • Madam C.8 months ago

    Love

  • Goodness Precious8 months ago

    Nice write up... I love the energy behind this.

  • C. H. Richard8 months ago

    Very cool pictures. I learned a few things too. Thank you and congratulations on Top story. ❤️

  • Alisher Odilov8 months ago

    My profile has also new story which is the best in the world

  • The Dani Writer8 months ago

    As a moon lover born under a moon sign, I can authoritatively state that these photographs are spectacular and the written content is magnificent. The cloudy rainy greyness didn't lend support to me catching this live in my present jurisdiction, so I am beyond grateful for your lens and am Woot-WOOT-ing you for this top story!

  • Moharif Yulianto8 months ago

    nice

  • SC Wells8 months ago

    These photos are absolutely stunning! Whenever I heard anyone referring to blue moons, I always imagined they’d be blue. I was lucky to accidentally see this the other night (Wednesday I think?) and it was enormous and mega bright. It peeking out if the clouds gave it an extra spooky effect.

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Gorgeous pictures 🥳You share how you took it with your camera. I wish a took photography. Two full moon in the month of August, the next blue moon is in 2037.

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    These are beautiful! Congrats on top story!

  • Dana Esposito8 months ago

    Thank you for this article! :) I have to buy a new telescope. I lost mine during a move. :(

  • Lilly Cooper8 months ago

    Lovely photos! I wish I knew better how to use the settings on cameras. I love to see everyone's photos though.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.