Photography logo

River Lagan Walks. Part Four

Amazing Wildlife and Scenery in Belfast, Northern Ireland.

By Aunidan Christi KPGSPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Birds in Motion.

Photography is my Therapy and Writing is my Passion.

I love getting out and about for an hour or so each week with my kind neighbour Noel and his dog Monty.

There is so much to see, hear and experience in and around the River Lagan, her towpath, parks and pathway, which is good for my health, mental health and well-being, which is a must in these dark days and nights of corona virus lockdowns and restrictions because Mother Nature is FREE and everywhere, no matter what nation you live in.

River Lagan in Flood.

The River Lagan in Belfast, Northern Ireland is a beautiful river, with amazing wildlife and scenery no matter where and when you visit it along its 23 miles, from the Mountains of Mourne to Belfast Lough and the Irish Sea.

I only visit a few miles in an around the River Lagan, her towpath, parks and pathways in Belfast because I am limited in my mobility and how far I can walk before extreme pain stops my short walks.

Though I am saving for an electric scooter to get me further out along the River Lagan and her towpaths, but they are expensive so it will be a few months before I have saved enough for one.

The Beautiful River Lagan.

Having said that, it is amazing how much wildlife and scenery I have photographed in the last six months of going out for an hour or so a week with my kind neighbour Noel and Monty the English Springer Spaniel in just a few miles of the River Lagan, her towpath, parks and pathways.

Robin in Mid-Flight.

Normally when I am out with Noel and Monty for my short walks the River Lagan is overflowing with wildlife, but this evening out, due to a severe storm the day before, the trees, bushes and their branches and leaves had taken a battering and the wildlife was scant on the ground.

Though this beautiful Robin Red Breast came along to say, “Hello,” while I was shaking my seed box to attract the little birds.

In my last photograph I captured the little Robin Red Breast in mid-flight, which is hard to do because I had hold my seed box in one hand while photographing the hovering Robin with the other hand holding my camera, but what a result, which any professional photographer would happy with and this is just a hobby for me.

Tempting the Robin in to Feed.

As you can see from my last photograph Noel and myself were not the only ones out feeding the little birds on the River Lagan towpath and like Noel and myself this young woman was having her connection with a creature from Mother Nature.

Feeding the Robin.

You can tell from the look on this young woman’s face the joy she gets from feeding the birds on the River Lagan towpath in Belfast, Northern Ireland, which I am sure she has done many times before this time, which is good to see, because it proves that others care about this world’s wildlife and environment.

Monty.

This is Monty, the English Springer Spaniel who Noel owns and though he is in his senior years he is still a beautiful dog, full of mischief and exploration.

Eyes of Wonder.

I love Monty’s eye and face expressions, which always make me laugh.

Here Monty is waiting on Noel to throw him a stick into the River Lagan, but in his senior years he will not follow the stick into the river.

Monty normally walks about with a stick in his mouth which I have taken many photographs of and the one below is my favourite.

Monty and the Stick.

The Seagull above River Lagan.

As I have already revealed in this story the River Lagan in Belfast was swollen with water due to an unusual storm in May, though with the Atlantic Hurricane Season already up and running this 2021, the storms that will pass Belfast and Northern Ireland this year will be strong and wet if last year’s record breaking season is anything to go by.

If you live in Belfast or even in Northern Ireland or you are just visiting our fair land then try and visit the River Lagan because I promise you, you will not be disappointed.

paypal.me/aunidanchristi64

If you can help a talented photographer and writer.

Best Regards

Aunidan

camera
Like

About the Creator

Aunidan Christi KPGS

I am the Author of "The Spiritual Truth, a Guide into all Truth,” available on Amazon-Aunidan Christi, I am also the Author of “River Lagan Walks,” also available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.