Photography logo

Onaqui Wild Horses

Just a day in the desert.

By Vicki GoodmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Onaqui Wild Horses

I live in Utah where there are several herds of wild horses that are managed by the Bureau of Land Management. Over the years I have seen many photos of these beautiful animals. I finally decided it was time that I took the trip myself. I loaded up my camera filled my car with fuel and made sure my tires were aired up (the road out to this area is rough and has a reputation for causing flat tires), told my family where I was going and to come find me if I didn’t get home by 8:00 PM.

The Onaqui Herd Management Area (HMA) is located 40 miles southwest of Salt Lake City and extends from Johnsons Pass south to Look Out Pass, it is part of the Pony Express Historical Trail. So, you not only get to see the wild horses but learn a little about history on the way there. There are historical markers along the way, as well as beautiful desert vistas.

I actually drove past the site where the horses were. I thought there were only a few and that they would be out near Simpson Springs. When I arrived at that site there were no wild horses to be found. I assumed I had missed them and feeling extremely disappointed began my long drive home. I continued to watch for signs of the herd, and as I noticed two vehicles pulled off the road next to what I thought was a set of railroad ties, but in truth was a long watering trough. The passengers of the vehicles were out setting up their cameras on tripods. I looked past them and saw six or seven horses making their way towards them. I quickly pulled off the road and joined the other photographers. We set up our cameras about 30 feet from the watering trough, amazingly close to where they would come to drink.

As I watched the small group of horses approach, I realized that in the distance I could see the entire herd, some still grazing others making their way towards us. I was thrilled to see so many. I later learned that the herd has approximately 175 adult horses. Due to the desert landscape, smaller groups join near the watering areas. They come to the watering hole in an assigned pecking order, group by group. The lead horse, whether male or female is very protective of their group members, ensuring they stay together, and that no outsider interferes with their time at the trough. Scuffles often break out between groups. Some walk calmly towards the water, others come at a full run. It was a breathtaking sight to see.

There were young foals in some groups, running with their long spindly legs, trying to keep up with their larger family members. One group chased off an interloper that tried to steal their young one. It got rough as they circled around the foal keeping it safe, I was afraid it would get stepped on with all the commotion.

Each group that came into the drink was different, they interacted with each other differently, as well as with those already at the watering hole, as if they had not just been out grazing in the same location just moments before. It was fascinating to watch them and see their unique personalities.

This photo happened just after the two had been drinking, they nipped at each other, then pawed at the ground in a threatening manner before rearing up with teeth bared, dancing on their hind legs, it continued for some time. The other horses near them just continued eating as if oblivious to the ruckus. I took so many photos that day, this was one of my favorites. I look forward to going back.

art
5

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.