Photography logo

It Was the Perfect Storm

Charming Influencer Meets Gear Acquisition Syndrome (GAS) Victim

By Darryl BrooksPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Image by Author

I've been a professional photographer for over twenty years. It began at some point during the film days with my first SLR camera, the Canon AE-1 Program. That camera was a tank—a beast. And I shot many thousands of frames of film, spending a fortune on development costs.

Then, digital came along, and I was hooked. But, I didn't just jump into the deep end of the pool. No, I researched methodically and slowly but carefully built my arsenal of digital tools. Starting with the Canon 20D and the kit lenses, I began collecting professional glass. The 24-105, 70-200, and the venerable nifty-fifty becoming my holy trinity of Canon lenses.

After working my way through the capabilities of this, admittedly starter camera body, I moved carefully up to the 40D, further honing my craft. Finally, I bought the ultimate in Canon gear at the time, the 5D MKIII. Now, not only was I a professional photographer, I looked the part as I lugged this ten-pound monster around on my shoulder.

I had reached the pinnacle of my craft with tools befitting a photographer of my skills.

Then I met this guy, the charming and witty Omar Gonzalez.

I long ago became addicted to YouTube. But not for cat videos. Besides an endless source of entertainment and amusement, YouTube is a wealth of education. In the photography arena, there are lessons from beginner to advanced, software demonstrations, and, unfortunately, gear reviews.

Unfortunately, as someone suffering from GAS, it can be a very dangerous place to be. But, usually, I can control my urges. I know the limits of my budget and understand that the photographer, not the equipment, ultimately makes the image.

Then I met this guy.

I had been thinking about going mirrorless for a while. It was clearly the coming thing, and many photographers touted the benefits. Of course, there are always naysayers. The ones that cry doom and gloom each time a new piece of technology comes along and threatens to 'ruin photography forever.' I'm pretty sure those guys were screaming when digital came out. Or film.

But I was intrigued and began reading about Canon's plans to embrace the mirrorless age. After all, I have been shooting Canons since the beginning and have invested heavily into lenses and other peripherals. It only made sense to continue my marriage to Canon as I evolved into the mirrorless age.

Then I met this guy, Omar Gonzalez.

His enthusiasm was contagious. He was so excited about the new Fuji Xt-3 camera. And eventually, I became intrigued. While Canon was still putzing around just thinking about a professional-grade mirrorless camera, Fuji was about to release its fourth or fifth mirrorless body.

And the more I watched Omar's and other videos on YouTube, the more lost I became. Of course, I wasn't just talking about buying a new camera. No, I would have to scrap twenty years' worth of lenses and other equipment and go all-in with a new system.

But the price point was attractive. I could buy the camera and lenses for about the same price Canon was planning on charging for the body alone.

Plus, dang, it shore was purdy!

After much anguish and hand-wringing, I finally decided to bite the bullet. I sold all of my Canon gear and purchased a brand new Fuji XT-3 camera body.

Image by Author

Right before a global pandemic hit.

But not to be deterred, I also bought one of the lenses Omar recommended, the Fuji 27mm lens.

Image by Author

I took it out and spent a day shooting late sunflowers.

Image by Author

And I was hooked. So I bought a couple more lenses.

Image by Author

And then a few more.

Image by Author

Now that the world is beginning to open up again, and I have mastered my new equipment in my studio, I am ready to bust loose and take it through its paces. We have waited patiently for over a year, and I am looking forward to spring and summer, where I can see what this little kit is really capable of.

Wait! What's that you say, Omar? An XT-4?

camera
1

About the Creator

Darryl Brooks

I am a writer with over 16 years of experience and hundreds of articles. I write about photography, productivity, life skills, money management and much more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.