Photography logo

Into the Light

By Renee Baghdady

By Renee BaghdadyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
This is the edited version, the unedited version is below.

This photo was taken at a sad time in my life, yet it is the favorite picture I have ever taken on my phone. I was just walking up the street to go in the car to go visit a family member at the hospital when I glanced up and saw how perfectly the light from the sunset was shining behind the buildings surrounding me. I was just so mesmerized from this scene that I knew I had to take this photo despite the reason why I was outside in the first place and being in a rush. I quickly took this picture and ran to catch up with the rest of my family. We rushed into the car and drove off to go to the hospital. I was too focused on where we were going that I actually forgot I took this photo. My mind was full of so many things and with the silence that was filling the car, I felt like I was alone with my dark thoughts surrounding me. All I remember of that car ride was how I was starring out the car window, feeling as if I was surrounded by darkness, and forgetting about the world around me and the picture I just took. It was that moment that made me realize that there was no light to guide me out of this darkness and I was just alone. All of my dark thoughts were put on hold when I was awakened from my dark state when the car came to a stop and I was brought back into the real world. We got out of the car and went up to the hospital room where my grandpa was. It was not until when I actually got to the hospital that I looked at the photo and started to edit it. I captured this shot just using my IPhone's camera and edited it until I was satisfied using the edit options such as exposure, brightness, etc. It took me a while to edit this photo because I did not know what message I wanted it to show and it was very hard to concentrate at that time, but it eventually became the photo that it is today. Every time I look at this photo, it just brings me that sense of serene it brought me the day I took it and reminds me that even on the saddest days there will always be a light that will guide us out of the darkness. This is demonstrated by having some of the picture completely darkened out and everything gets clearer and clearer as you go up until you reach the light and everything is outlined for you which perfectly describes the state I was in when I took it. Going to a hospital to see my grandpa in the hospital really made me depressed and put me in a dark place. When I took this picture, it was like somehow the light from the sunset was telling me that everything will be okay and I will see the light soon that will guide me out of this darkness. A few days after, my grandpa was admitted out of the hospital to go back home with us since he got better and of course all of our spirits were lifted knowing that he was okay. If it wasn't for capturing this photo, I don't think I would have gotten through that experience and this photo continues to guide me towards the light whenever I get lost in the darkness. Little did I know while I was taking this was that this photo would eventually mean a lot to me.

editing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.