Photography logo

Foundation

what builds you up to become who you are.

By Kevin RPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
A father and his two girls having an awesome moment together as they peddle around the lake

The image above represents the beginning of my career as a photographer. It was 2016 i was still in high school thinking of what i was going to do after i graduated. I was always been very fond of photography, i loved seeing everyones amazing images but i could never see myself doing it as something that could possibly be a career.

On july 17th 2016, i was walking with my family when i noticed a lake and how beautiful it looked, sun was out and it was a perfect day to be out in a mini boat on the beautiful lake, so i had to capture what i saw with my phone. I captured the image and looked at it , an realized i had taken the photo at the most perfect time, my mind started going crazy of how amazing it looked, my mind raced thinking of the multiple creations that i could make my picture look and then i realized that i was doing what i had told myself i couldnt do,my eyes became watery i told myself that i could become a photographer. A year and a half later i got my very first job and saved up enough money to buy my very own camera, but along the way i took multiple amazing pictures on my very old Iphone 5s my camera was a huge upgrade compared to my phone quality pictures but it didn't stop me from taking images that showed what i saw.

During that year an a half i went through multiple obsticles with my creativity. On september 2018 the biggest oppurtunity of a life time came,i was in my senior year in highschool and i was taking an adobe class at the time, during my class my teacher and i became great friends she would be the person i would come to when i needed help on anthing regarding school and my future. My teacher informed me of a competition that my school was apart of, the competition was created by a very well known software company known as ADOBE. Adobe was selecting winners to join them in there creativity conference in Los Angeles California, my teacher really wanted me to join this competition and so i did because i wanted to see if i could also win it. The competition required a student to make a mini film about thier generation explaning what we are. So i struggled to make a film because my main form of work was photography, so i had to learn how to edit a video using their software. I didnt really think i would be able win but i tried either way i only had four days to actually film and edit the video and as time went by i finished my final video submitting it to my teacher so she could send it to them. Days went by and i hadnt heard anything about the competition i started to think it was over and i had lost, during the end of class my teacher calls my name as i walk up to her she says "get ready beacuse your one of the finalist for the Adobe competition" i jumped up and down. I went home that day hoping for the best, the final results were going to be revealed that night so i barely slept because of the excitment that was rushing through my body. the next day i walk in to class and my teacher is standing at the door waiting for me, as i walk to her she pulls out a sign saying congratulations and i instantly knew what that meant , it meant that i had what it takes to be in the this field and that all the doubt that i had on myself was going away i made the most important people in my life very proud of me and that was my family, that night i went on my laptop and looked at the first picture that gave me the confidence to join events like those and i told myself i would continue to make myself proud and those love ones around me proud and it was all thanks to my very first picture that got me to be where i am today, a 19 year old boy with a bigger dream. Thank you guys for the opportunity to share my story and my creation.

i live by the two quotes,

“Photography is a way of feeling, of touching, of loving. What you have caught on film is captured forever… It remembers little things, long after you have forgotten everything.”

— Aaron Siskind

"it doesnt take expensive equipment to create art"- unkown

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.