Photography logo

Colors

Diversity of colors in wildlife.

By ABCwrittenPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Living in the city, it is not often that I have the chance to observe any color other than the green of the foliage and the gray of the buildings. Of course, there are beautifully painted murals and even some artistic graffiti that makes the city more lively but when it comes to wildlife, you’d be lucky if you came across a bright red Northern Cardinal or a Wood Pecker covered in spots with a red – and maybe yellow – tuft of hair on its head. That’s why when I took a trip to Mexico, I made it my mission to capture the most vibrant, colorful wildlife I could find.

Put the wild in wildlife and the task isn’t always easy. Before I was able to capture this picture of the peacock, poised and elegant in the natural light of midday sunshine, I took many pictures of my sister and cousin screaming, cowering in a corner, frantically trying to open the balcony door and get back into the hotel room. Let me take a few steps back and tell you about the events leading up to this photo.

It was a hot afternoon in Mexico and my cousin decided to rest in the shade on her first-floor balcony. She placed her hat slightly over her eyes and took a little snooze. I was in the next room, going through the photos I had been taking throughout the trip, disappointed that none of them really captured the essence of the bright colors I was going for. Then, I heard a loud squawk coming from the direction of my cousin’s room. My cousin was startled awake and screamed as a peacock jumped on the edge of the balcony and screeched at her. My sister, who had been taking it easy in my cousin’s room, quickly ran to join her on the balcony. Not to save her, but to see the peacock up close, being the animal lover that she is. Soon, the peacock became still, and eventually so did my cousin. But within seconds, chaos ensued as my sister, in her infinite wisdom, reached out to pet the peacock’s train – it’s tail, a term I later learnt.

So, she goes and barely touches it but that is enough to make him mad. The peacock quickly turns and looks her dead in the eye. At this point my cousin had jumped far away from the chair she had been sitting in and sprinted to the door. She tugged at it, but it wouldn’t open. They both started to panic as the peacock slowly lifted, seeming ready to fan out its train in a spectacular move of intimidation. Unnecessary though, as my cousin and sister were already freaked out, scared to get clawed or bitten by his strong beak. A peacock is extremely beautiful – and harmless – but up close, when you’ve bothered it, it is huge and seems it could take you in one swift movement if it wanted to.

Now, I had been watching this unfold from the balcony in my own room next door - with my camera of course. I feel a little bad now, but I was mostly laughing at them and at how absurd the scene looked. Like something out of a comedy. It was the perfect set up with them scrambling at the locked door because a beautiful bird was intensely staring them down. It didn’t take long for them to get mad at me and yell at me to do something. I ran to their room but realized I didn’t have the key, so I ran back and made my own screeching noises from the balcony; my feeble attempt to intimidate the bird.

Then, out of nowhere, a parrot that had landed near the decorative fountain to my left joined me in my screeching. It was almost beautiful, this medley of noises. The peacock, alerted, turned its head. Realizing I was of no help, I grabbed my camera instead, not wanting to miss the opportunity of capturing the spectacular parrot that distracted the peacock and probably saved my family from being attacked. I couldn’t believe how crisp and detailed the photo of this savior bird turned out.

Now, the peacock and parrot had locked eyes and seemed to have engaged in a staring contest. Was it love? Or was a fight about to break out between them. The peacock eventually conceded and bounced off the balcony ledge. He turned back to look at us one last time before strutting away. That’s when I was able to take its picture. And it didn’t walk away without a leaving a gift; three of its feathers – one for each of us.

To this day the feather, which I snuck onto the plane, that I keep framed on my wall has not lost its glow. Peacocks really are magnificent.

I was really glad I got to experience the wildlife in Mexico and capture the images of these two astonishing birds, different than the ones I usually encounter in my city.

Oh – and my parents finally arrived with the room key to free my cousin and sister.

camera
Like

About the Creator

ABCwritten

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.