Photography logo

"Beyond your gaze"

(those stories we embed in our canvas and film paper)

By Todd ThurmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

This Tesseracting with images (Remember I am something like a hyper collagist) is a bit of a self-portrait. My love for mountains, water, long stretches of road to unknown destination all play a part. As well as the looking for a kingdom beyond the sky.

Today was a particularly productive day artwise. I dabbled with people's drone shots quite a bit. In this image we have a highway to the moutnains, a blast of ocean waves, a man dwelling on his corporate futures, and a whole bunch more.

The images is actually not of me, but of a model who looks quite a bit like me when I got done with him. The palm trees are special to me, as when we moved to Arizona (a place I did not expect to find palms) they embedded themselves in my psyche. Not to mention finding them in dreams of Hawaii, Gilligan's Island and Florida while hunting for gators.

This is one of my more successful, heretofore not shared pieces. I haven't given it a name yet. Strangely enough she is the face of the age right now--for better and for worse. She is brave, bold, egotistical, feminine, masculine, mysterious, simple, judgmental, moody, tolerant. All in one impossibly beautiful bald head.

I am pausing for a moment to consider a title. Let's call her "Ruler of the Ball". I like that. I think it will stick. Naming your artwork is half of the fun. You can find ways to exhibit and release your creativity at every edge. The question is if there is any place left in the world where people are still curious, hungry and looking for what you have to offer. That's the gamble--every time. Only the very few ever get a strong following, fame or fortune. Only a few get to be paid enough for what they do to feel proud and safe doing it.

Believe it or not, there are basketball courts, tennis courts, sailing/barging vessels all in this picture. Why? That's for you to figure out and interpret. Part of the game between author/Auteur and audience.

These three are all ones I will likely pay to print off. I am very pleased today with the work. But again, none of it would work, if I didn't have good fodder to build with. I am grateful for those who share their art with me, so I can build bigger and museumic things.

I have always been a fan of the fair. And of course a fan of beautiful women. This one is hard because this model is quite deep in some kind of drama and danger. Playing with dice she shouldn't have touched.

There is also a barge in this one. I am hard pressed to leave water alone. It is something I inherited from my mother. A deep mystification with all bodies of water.

A friend of mine in Yugoslavia says that water is the only thing in the Bible not recorded as having been created, For the whole stories begins with the Spirit of the Lord hoving over the "deeps". And water is merely discussed as being separated and situated around land, and teamed with many animals.

And we are Lord of beasts. This poor damsel is Mistress of them. If only she can survive those corners of carnivals of darkness into which she is somehow luxuriantly wandered.

Possible titles for this last one. Let's think of as many as reasonably possible. It's part of the fun: "Parasol Ink" or "the Last Fair" or "Premature Intrigue". Those are all pretty dark, because the image is dark. I don't love how dark many of my images are, but they seem to reflect the times we live in. I'll end by trying to think of some titles that aren't so clammy or horrific. Perhaps "My Fair Lady", or "Red Light Rescue" (even that's dark--see how hard this is?), "Love and Lipstick".

That's good for now. If you can find a way, feel free to shoot me ideas and feedback of your own.

art

About the Creator

Todd Thurman

Thinker of stray thoughts, lover of Kindness, hopefully God's child.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Todd ThurmanWritten by Todd Thurman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.