Photography logo

Morning Shadows

(do you get better as you go?)

By Todd ThurmanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read

I woke this morning, having dreamt profoundly but remembering little. This the story of most people, but I usually recall mine in vivid detail.

I went to bed listen to apocalyptic podcasts, after a good meal with friends who are trying to get me to dine more healthy.

I had planned to rise this morning to help a friend with some of their career they're behind on. But my services ended up not being required. Good. Another excuse to Tesseract Images.

This one I call Morning Shadows. For sometimes we don't completely shake the day before. Sometimes we don't rise with a readiness to chase the Himalayas. Sometimes we are in the Netherworlds, trying to figure out whether to have morning vittles, whether to return to dreaming, whether to live life more fully than we've yet come to do.

The image was crafted from somebody's reflections of themselves at the fool of an Alaskan peak, but reflected in water. Next there was some rainbow light to play around with. And finally, the most significant other image I played with was some sort of sticky, exotic cotton plant.

The whole thing makes one feel like they are trapped in sleepy carnival mirrors at who knows what time of day.

Time to go back and grab {make} another . . . please stand by. . .

"Flesher King"

This one I just left to make is more akin to the story-telling I try to drive into when grabbing and blending images together. I am sitting here right now trying to come up with a name for it. I think I will go with "Flesher King".

This began with my first find, which was that of an "old man of the sea" so to speak. He had his nets surrounding him, and must be a sort of fisherman. He has a beautifully handsome face, but I only wanted show half of it.

And of course he is staring at the sky and at who knows what. Is he waiting for "the thief in the night"? Or just some birds who ran off with his day's work? These are the questions.

From where is he from? And so I played around a bit with that. Deciding at last to give it an Asia sort of feel. And then of course the swim and dance of what sort of colors to blend both his day and his night. Sort of tying it to the first image this morning. That feeling of being trapped between hours, betwixt seasons, slammed in the middle of prophesies if you will.

Maybe one more before ending this session.

Sea Carpenter's Dream

And now probably my favorite of the day, if not the week. Again playing with the idea of plumbing the depths from the sea of God's dreams. (I've always fancied the idea of what mysteries one could salvage from the oceans, what wrecks and beauties lie down there?). Sometime one idea begets another. Sometimes you just get better as you wake. Or maybe this isn't the best of the 3--who can say.

I'll call it "Sea Carpenter's Dream"

I would love to sell these. But I don't really know how good they are, where the market is to bring them. But like many of the rest of them, I just give them away for the free viewing for now, because like many an artist, I just want to share the flavor of my own unique imagination. My own sense of what is happening and beautiful and terrible in the world/universe.

Thanks for following me on this journey.

art

About the Creator

Todd Thurman

Thinker of stray thoughts, lover of Kindness, hopefully God's child.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Todd ThurmanWritten by Todd Thurman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.