Photography logo

A Flash of Sunlit Minnows

CAPTURE THE WILD

By Laken HoodyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Emerald shiners caught from the waters of Lake Huron try to create a current while inside of a seine in the tanks of Huron Live Bait in Imlay City, Michigan on Tuesday, June 8, 2021.

The minnow family — Cyprinidae — is the largest freshwater fish family in the world. There are about 50 genera and over 300 species of minnows in the United States, yet nearly all the people I've ever discussed minnows with couldn't even tell me what a minnow was.

I mean, I definitely know what a minnow is. My dad's the bait guy.

Kerry Hoody, commonly known as “the bait guy,” rakes the bottom of the tank with a dipper for dead minnows at his business Huron Live Bait in Imlay City, Michigan on September 20, 2020. “It’s all-day work, nonstop. And at any time of day the minnows could be running down at the river and I’d stop what I was doing and drive the bait truck over there. You always are trying to be one step ahead of the minnows.”

My dad, Kerry Hoody, has been wholesaling live bait nearly all of his life. After working for a few friends' business during his young adulthood, he decided to open up his own live bait business, Huron Live Bait, in Imlay City, Michigan, where he sells perch bait, crick bait, and walleye bait. He catches most of his bait during the summer in Port Huron, Michigan under the Blue Water Bridge in the waters of Lake Huron. During the fall and winter, Kerry has to search other bodies of water, like brooks or channels or cricks, to find where the minnows have traveled. There are a few live bait catchers/dealers in the thumb of Michigan near Kerry, and they all compete to find, catch, and sell the minnows. Even if my dad knows where he's able to catch minnows, there could be another bait guy down there already scooping them up. It's an extremely competitive business. If my dad's not there to grab them at the right time at the right place, somebody else has already got the minnows in the tank of their truck and driving them home.

After seining up the tank, Kerry fills buckets up with minnows and dumps them into the tanks on the truck for delivery on Sunday, February 21, 2021.
Kerry has been wholesaling live bait for most of his life. He catches most of his bait during the summer in Port Huron, Michigan under the Blue Water Bridge in the waters of Lake Huron.

Most people don't understand how much hard work is put into catching these minnows. An average catching day starts around 2 a.m. for Kerry and doesn't really have a specified clock-out time. He has to figure out when and where the minnows are running, and if they're not there, he's got to find them or try all over again the next morning. It's very hit-or-miss, minnows are very spontaneous and it's hard to figure out their movement patterns.

Emerald shiners gather close as they are pulled tighter together inside the seine as Kerry prepares them to be delivered to a wholesaler on Tuesday, June 8, 2021.

To get this shot of the minnows, I knew I had to be still and quick. Minnows are fast and they sure don't stick to one spot for very long. I wanted to capture a still moment of them, up close and personal, with as much detail I could possibly get.

This morning my dad was loading up the bait truck to make a delivery and I knew this was my moment to snag these photos. I headed out to the minnow shed with my camera. I needed to get up on the tank to get my ideal shot right straight above the minnows. I balanced as I crouched down to get an even closer shot. Walking the narrow tops of the tanks was nothing new to me, I've spent my whole life out here helping my dad.

I was shooting in natural light with my Nikon D5600 at 1/160 sec at f/1.8 with an ISO of 5000 on an 85 mm lens. I've tried shooting the minnows close-up before but couldn't get the picture I imagined in my head; the minnows were too fast and jumpy and I just couldn't get a solid clear and focused photo. This time, however, I got exactly what I was trying for. It was a challenge, but I was ready to step up and face it head-on.

After gathering my shots, I headed inside to edit. I narrowed down my selection to the sharpest, cleanest photos and began editing in Adobe Lightroom to make the photos look just like the scene did in real life through the naked eye. I brightened, toned, got the colors right — anything to recreate the live moment in time. This brought me to around 10 of my favorite edits, and slowly I narrowed it down to my favorite photo that best represented the minnows, which is the big photo at the top of this story. I'm very glad I accepted this challenge and got the photo I've been wanting to create for a long time now. Through my photos, I've been happily telling the world my dad's story as the bait guy through these lively, adventurous, photogenic minnows.

how to

About the Creator

Laken Hoody

lakenhoody.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Laken HoodyWritten by Laken Hoody

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.