Photography logo

A Cold Week

Street Photography Field Notes: Week Four

By KeithPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Kansas City, Missouri as seen from Kansas City, Kansas. Nikon Z6II

Street photography is a unique form of photography that captures candid moments in everyday life. Controversial and challenging, street photography has become one of my favorite genres of photography. I’ve collected some my best shots from the last week and hope you find something enjoyable.

Cold Mornings

It has felt like an extremely cold week thanks to it finally reaching normal winter temps here in Kansas City. I hate it. Every morning I blame climate change because it’s easier than doing something about it. I wake to frozen toes in the mornings (fuck you hardwood floors), become miserable (thanks, cold toilet seat) and don’t want to leave the house. It was only thanks to my wife’s heated car seats, that I was able to ride shotgun and capture the above photo of KCMO’s downtown. It was taken from the Kansas-side of the twin cities, overlooking the trainyards, the West Bottoms and the Kaw River.

Hot coffee coming on deck. Fujifilm X100F

Kansas City Coffee

Because it’s cold, I’ve been drinking a lot more coffee and that means visiting more coffee shops. Splitlog Coffee is just down the street from us, blessing us with its always convenient drive-thru window. The cost of convenience has been adding up but hasn’t stopped us from mixing things up and trying other cafes from time to time.

Meeting of the hands. Nikon Z6II
Rochester Brewing brews coffee brews and beer brews. Fujifilm X100F

Rochester Brewing is on the Missouri side of the river but my wife enjoys their veggie burrito. Covid is still a thing as of this writing but customers here don’t seem to act as if that bothers them. It’s because of this that I rather shop through Splitlog Coffee’s drive-thru window but I have to admit that Rochester Brewing’s specialty drinks are quite delicious.

People gonna people.

I’ve only been able to brave the brisk mornings a couple times, and every other person I saw while out looked as miserable as I felt. One morning, a sour-faced nun took two years to descend a flight of steps outside the cathedral in my neighborhood. Near a bus stop, we watched as a woman was either lip-syncing for a TikTok video or was having the liveliest FaceTime ever. Speaking of TikTok, it’s getting weird how often I see people doing those in public (especially since I don’t leave the house often). It’s either weird or I’m just an old man now and need to get over it. Either way, it is definitely a thing.

TikTok is life. Fujifilm X100F
Stairway from heaven. Nikon Z6II
Hand warmers. Nikon Z6II
TikTok & Shuttlecocks. Fujifilm X100F

People were out working too. Construction workers were arguing on Main St about whether or not to take longer to do their jobs because everyone enjoys construction cones and traffic jams. Other folks were out relieving their stress the safer way by taking an old-fashioned smoke break.

Frozen water, slow moving fish, dead leaves and a can of Coke. Fujifilm X100F

One coffee-drink-inspired morning, we got curious about the pond at Loose Park. During the warmer months, the pond houses koi as well as ducks, but with it being below freezing, we wanted to see if either were still out and about. Happily, both the fish and the ducks were still in the water, just not as active as before. The fish under the ice were moving so slow, they were barely perceivable.

That’s all for this week folks. If you enjoyed these street photography stories, be sure to check out my profile for more of my work. And if you’re a purveyor of street photography, drop me a message or leave a comment so I can follow your work as well.

Stay Well!

art
Like

About the Creator

Keith

Polymath, jack of all trades or just really, really bored.

Photographer by trade, duck daddy by choice. Depressive because we live in a society yet here I am, writing about all of it. Stay Well & Stay Tuned

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.