Petlife logo

World of Animals

How Animals Can Change Lives

By Stefan HiggsPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
Me Holding a Slightly Big Common Boa

Over the years, I have been given the chance to see, work, and own several different animals but only on a small scale such as owning dogs, hamsters, and rabbits. So usually small “friendlier” pets... until I met my sister's hamster. As a rule of thumb, I was always the first to pick our new pet up to see if it bites. Well, guess what! This hamster enjoyed a little human now and then, enjoying clamping down on my finger. As an automatic response I pulled away, and not only did this make things worse, but I had a baby Siberian hamster with devilish red eyes and pure white fur (which later ended up covered in my blood).

This opened my eyes on the fact that if I can survive a hamster bite without having my finger amputated, I may be able to manage with a slightly annoyed snake.

This started in the September of 2015. Being a genuinely clever son, I still hadn’t moved out of my parents' house, which gave me restrictions on what pets I could have. This is where I found my love for reptiles. At this time I had a terripin. He genuinely thought he was a ninja turtle, though. He was the most evil thing I’ve ever owned, but comes in handy when we have moths and spiders claiming residence and not paying rent! They were thrown into the abyss of the tank which Terry (my terrapin) was housed in. I had a lot of fun over the 12 years we had him.

I had discovered my strange intrest in large snakes, but living in a box room with only about four feet of floor space, I had to improvise. I spent the next three months trying to convince my parents to allow me to get a snake. Let’s say they weren't very pleased when I suggested this, but they always said they will help me progress my career if they can, so I kind of had them trapped. This is when I got my first snake Noodle! He is a Royal/Ball Python!

First Day With Noodle

Noodles First Week At Home!

This was an eventful day as I had already brought a vivarium for him, kitted out with a heat mat, water bowl, and a scenic background. I had gotten everything but my substrate, so I turned to the Facebook groups which recommended to me to use newspaper. This vivarium was perfect until a year passed and Noodle went from being seven inches to nearly three feet long. I had to get a new vivarium... Now not only have I got a spare vivarium, but another one taking my floor space!

snake
Like

About the Creator

Stefan Higgs

Animals fill the gaps that people leave, loyalty with animals is much stronger then man

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.