Petlife logo

With a Little Help

Finding your perfect pet

By Erica PsaltisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
How can you not love this face?!

ThunderCat was so cute in the local shelter’s Facebook post. I’m always a sucker for old dogs, and my local shelter was looking for a fospice for an older shih tzu mix. She was in good health, but couldn’t be adopted out because she wasn’t spayed, and she couldn’t be spayed because she had a terrible heart murmur. She needed a home full of love and care until the end of her days, and I was happy to do it.

I brought her home, eight fluffy pounds of dog. She is like a cat; quiet, calm, independent, but a big fan of tummy rubs. She is practically perfect. The easiest dog I ever took on.

But a voice in my head said, “You need to talk to Nan about her.”

Nan? I hadn’t talked to Nan in seven+ years! She had dated my brother for a time, but after they broke up, we hadn’t really had reason to talk. We remained friends on social media, but hadn’t had any meaningful contact. I did know that her senior dog had passed away some years prior. Perhaps that little voice was telling me she might be ready for another senior dog?

While I dragged my feet on contacting Nan, I started a fundraiser to get TC an echocardiogram to get a better idea if her heart could handle anesthesia. I was concerned about pyometra, a fatal uterine infection that can strike unspayed female dogs; my previous fospice dog had had pyometra when she was brought to the shelter.

As I worked to raise the money, I started to post pictures of her on my instagram account, and almost immediately saw that Nan was “liking” those posts. I took a chance and private messaged her.

“I see you enjoy Thundercat.”

“So precious!!”

“You’d love her. She’s a doll.”

But her apartment didn’t allow pets…

“I just know you’d love her. She’s so well behaved and quiet. If your housing situation changes, let me know! You are the only other person I would want her adopted by.”

Nan thought she sounded perfect. Her boyfriend Nick had just talked to her the week before about it being time for her to get another dog. She had been thinking about it for a while… We agreed that perhaps the stars were aligning.

Of course, Nan’s requirements for a new dog to adopt were pretty specific, and anyone with experience with shelter and rescue dogs will know that the list was practically impossible: senior, small, housebroken, quiet, good with kids. Basically as rare as a unicorn, but ThunderCat is ALL OF THOSE THINGS!

We waited for her echocardiogram…and luckily her heart was absolutely capable of being spayed and getting a dental cleaning. Nan had spoke to her landlord and as long as ThunderCat was quiet (because he lived below her apartment) and housebroken, he was game. Adorable photographs of her grumpy face sealed the deal.

And so once ThunderCat was medically cleared, we drove her the three hours northwest to Portland to meet Nan. Nan was already in love based on our chats and photos back and forth, and I knew the minute I handed TC over, the deal would be sealed. ThunderCat is impossible to not love. We had agreed to a two-week trial, but I brought all of her stuff, because I knew she would be staying.

She has been a big hit in Nan’s life. Nick loves ThunderCat, now named Bertie. Nan’s studio mates love Bertie. Nan’s mom, niece, and nephews love Bertie. She goes on nature walks and camping trips, charms people at outdoor diners, and is a model for Nan’s handmade bag business. The two of them advocate for senior dog adoption on their walks around the city. And Bertie has Nan wrapped around her little paw.

Life with Bertie made Nan’s life better, but sometimes it takes a little help from a friend.

Because I am heavily involved with dog rescues and shelters in Central Oregon, I have good connections to know what kind of dogs are out there looking for homes. I’ve found such satisfaction helping people find their perfect dog, being a dog broker of sorts; friends reach out to me when they are looking for a new family member because they know I I know what’s out there in the Central Oregon rescue world. Dogs are such sweet and wonderful creatures, and deserve loving homes, and people find such enjoyment with a furry companion. While there are many places people can find dogs available to join their family, sometimes searching through all the websites to find exactly what they’re looking for can be overwhelming, and that’s where I’d love to come in.

Bringing animals together with people is simple, but there are often aspects that are overlooked, including the transition into a new home, finding a good vet, and exploring food and supplements. Putting all this information together in one place would be a helpful tool not only in establishing new relationships, but also providing the information that makes these relationships successful - kind of a combination of matchmaking and follow-up couples counseling.

With this kind of program, I can help people find exactly the dog they want, help dogs find the homes they need, and provide the tools for success!

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.