Petlife logo

White Socked Angel

The story of the sweetest fur baby.

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Castiel by Mercedes Chavez

Castiel. I remember the first day I got him, my best friend's cat just had a litter of 6, and there I saw the tiniest of them, grey with the cutest little white socks (aka his perfect white paws) and I fell absolutely head over heels in love with him. When I brought him home he cried a lot, I did everything I could to make him comfortable, I made him a little bed in my chair and put it right next to my bed so he would never be alone, and still he cried. I bottle fed him, gave him wet food a little at a time, and still he cried. It wasn't until the 5th night, I lay asleep but I suddenly stirred awake, I didn't hear his small cries and became concerned, but before I could sit up, I felt his small paws making his way from my stomach to the nap between my neck and shoulder. He curled himself into a little ball there and fell fast asleep, I soon fell back to sleep to the sound of his precious snores.

He was such an affectionate little fellow, but as he got older he didn't cuddle as much, he wasn't as affectionate, every now and then he would come and let me pet him for just a few minutes and there he went about his business. I know a lot of cats aren't very affectionate, I know they're very independent animals, but I loved when he would cuddle and fall asleep with me, it would literally help me sleep better. I really missed it.

This year has been a really difficult one for me, my health has not been the best, and I've already had two surgeries, all within the first half of the year. After my first surgery I had the hardest time getting comfortable, I could only sleep on my back and it became really uncomfortable, especially since I had to stay in bed for a week straight. Sadly, my husband wasn't able to stay with me through my whole first week after surgery, when he would leave to go to work, I would get really sad... I hated being alone and not being able to do anything for myself.

On probably the most difficult day during my recovery, I hit my lowest point, my depression had me so deeply entangled in it's clutches, that after my husband left for work that day, I broke into tears. I don't mean small single tears, I mean full body shaking crying, as much as it hurt me physically, I could not stop myself for crying. I literally wanted to die... but then I felt warmth, soft, perfect warmth that suddenly pressed against me. I wipe away my tears, I reach my hand to my side and there he was, soft and warm, and oh so comforting; his breaths were steady and I could tell he was sleeping.

My sweet Castiel came to me when I was at my lowest, some may say that it was just a coincidence, but I don't believe that, not even for a second. Cas never just randomly cuddles anymore, but in that moment, he didn't just come and cuddle, he came to me and curled up right against me and fell asleep. He did it at the very moment I really needed someone, I softly petted his soft little head, and everything felt so much better, the warmth from him seemingly made all the pain go away.

3 months later, I had my next surgery, and my first night home, instead of climbing over me, as he does many nights, he came to my side, curled up, and fell sound asleep, never trying to climb over me not once through the whole night. During that recovery time, he stayed with me, never leaving my side. I truly believe he knew I needed him, I know it in my heart. He is my sweet boy, so loyal and caring, he is my guardian angel, he is my Castiel.

cat
1

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.