Petlife logo

Twilight Pets

Why Elderly Pets are My Favorite

By Jade Belmont Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Belle and I

A woman in her late 20s bringing in a lifelong best friend. A gray hair lady carting in the furry person who's been there for her for years. An old lady who spent her entire Twilight years with a little miniature schnauzer by her side. These are some of the most rewarding appointments that I've had the pleasure of checking in.

While kittens and puppies are great, some of my favorite patients have been our elderly pets. There's just something about a 17 year old cat brought in and a luxurious but old carrier with a pet parent listing all of their favorite foods. For a man whose biggest concern is making his old dog's hips feel a little less sore. Having a 14-year old cat myself, their passion for their pets truly makes my job fulfilling.

Understandably older pets can be more grumpy due to arthritis, sensitive tummies, or any other number of ailments they've acquired over the years. Though I find if you take the time to do things in the most comfortable way for them, as well as take the time to earn their trust, they show the most appreciation for being cared for.

One of my absolute favorite patients, we'll call her Belle, was a 17 year old black cat getting the works. We needed various samples on her, as well as a pedicure. Her four little paws had brittle old lady nails that she let me meticulously trim and file. It was obvious maintaining them herself was getting difficult. She sat beautifully for getting her blood drawn and a urine sample to complete her lab work. And at the very end she let me hold her curled up in my lap like a little kitten. And in that moment it was easy to remember why I do the things I do.

Another old patient that captured my heart was a 14 year old miniature schnauzer. She would shake and shiver on the exam table, until I held her close and snuggled her during her entire exam. As long as someone was there to love her she seemed to feel like everything would be all right. While discharging her to the most gracious old lady, her owner showed me pictures of past schnauzers who used to be patients at our clinic. That connection will forever stay in my mind. While prepping another old schnauzer for a procedure one Saturday afternoon, I found a similar adoration for affection. The calmer I was, the more cooperative he was willing to be. Even when dealing with the dysphoria of post sedation, He would be much less vocal while I stroked his ears softly.

At the bottom of the stairs on the far side of the clinic, there is a little door with a window. This window peeks into our underwater treadmill room. I can't help it stop and get a little bit giddy when I see you elderly animals working on regaining or maintaining their mobility. To me it means more walks with their people and just a little more tail wags. It's making each one of these moments more precious as their age begins to show in their grayish muzzles.

It's pets like Belle, in what we affectionately call their Twilight years, that are a huge part of what makes VetMed so satisfying to me. I've lost many a pet way too early so being a part of giving these animals and their owners and the gift of just a little more time together keeps my passion thriving.

catdoghealthhumanity
Like

About the Creator

Jade Belmont

Vet Assistant Stories - Anime Nerd - Pop Culture Enthusiast - Crochet - Gamer - Philosophical

These are some of the types of content I'm most passionate about so you'll find much of my content to fit in one or more of these categories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.