Petlife logo

Tucker, you little... !@#$

Dog Mans Best Friend

By Prince GrayPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I’m sure if you haven’t been living under a rock, you’ve heard of Shiloh, Lassie, Beethoven, hell even Marley, but no dog can compare to Tucker. You see we’ve only had Tucker for about 2 months, and he has already proven to be more than a handful. Granted like the saying “be careful what you wish for”, the saying is very much true. To give you a backstory on how Tucker came into our lives I have to start back in May. My roommate Shannon had recently lost her dog of 11 years and the house felt a bit empty. Sure, we still had Gracie-May (Pitbull) & Oliver (Cat), but the loss of a pet is difficult on anyone. As a collective we discussed whether or not to get a new dog, however my roommate needed time, which was understandable. Over the next few months Gracie-May’s behavior started to change. It was apparent that she was grieving the loss of Daisy. Her appetite had changed, she wasn’t chasing Oliver around as much. So, my room mates (Shannon and Allura) decided that maybe it was time to get a new dog.

I was thrilled because I wanted a new dog to bond with. I opted for a boy, because other than Oliver, him and I were the only males in the house. Too much estrogen in the house can be a bit much at times. Well one random day as I was coming home from my chiropractor appointment, Allura gives me a call. “Prince, we got a dog!” I was through the roof! Allura then proceeds to tell me a few things, one that I was going to be upset, and two the dog was not what it seems. When I arrived home much to my shock, I was greeted by a big ass wildebeest, Athena. Athena was a blue-nose pit-bull, who was built like a linebacker. Needless to say, I’m not sure who her previous owners were, but this dog was huge. Athena was about 6 months old, beautiful hazel eyes, and was strong as the incredible hulk. Although I was disappointed about Athena not being a boy I was happy nonetheless.

Athena had a personality of her own. She was clumsy, playful, but most importantly she had a kindred spirit. Now, when I say this dog was strong, I mean it. I’m a pretty stocky dude, and Athena only being 70lbs, was able to knock me over. I’m not sure what her previous owners were feeding her, (probably whole chickens) but this dog had super human strength. Over the next few days Athena started to show aggression towards Oliver, and it was decided that we would have to rehome her. Eventually we found her a suitable home, which was truly a blessing since there is a lot of negative stigma about pit-bulls. Once again, we were at square one, until Shannon received a call about a Husky who needed a new home, that husky is no other than Tucker.

From first glance you may look at Tucker and think, oh he’s so sweet. I would then tell you replace that “T” in his name and replace it with an “F”, because he truly is one. Granted Tucker has been passed down to numerous homes, we knew that it was going to be an adjustment for him, however it has been an adjustment for all of us. You see, when I was younger I always had huskies on my list of dogs I would love to get. So, when the opportunity presented itself, I was ecstatic. Well within a week my perspective changed…drastically. No one told me that huskies are notorious for chewing. Tucker would chew everything; stuffed animals, shoes, bed sheets, glasses (yes glasses), anything this dog could get his mouth on. We figured that maybe this was a phase, that maybe he was teething, until we left him unattended.

When I say he turned this house upside down, he went through “Bounty” paper towels (which considering we are in a pandemic), blankets, rugs, curtains, but what sealed his fate was Shannon’s couch. Now Shannon is a very calm, cool, and collected individual. She hardly ever gets upset, but when I say I’ve never seen the clear disdain she had for this dog, it was written across her entire face. It was then decided that when Tucker was left unattended, we would put him in kennel until one of us returned. Now I don’t want you to get any ideas and call PETA on us! We don’t like the idea of putting him in a kennel, but that’s only the beginning. We figured that maybe the kennel would suffice, until we were able to properly train Tucker, boy where we wrong. Tucker is now an escape artist. This dog could escape Guantanamo Bay, even Fort Knox! I have encountered many dogs, but this dog here is a piece of work. Although he has his flaws, I see through his soul. His soul is telling us to not give up on him. Well although that is cute we rehomed him. Just kidding! Yes, this dog is a pain in my ass, and my roommates, but he’s my pain in the ass and I will ensure that he has a loving home regardless of his tendencies.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Prince Gray

Look no further because your boy has arrived. My name is Prince, but you can call me Princeton if your feeling classy (lol). I am an upcoming writer who has a passion to create. Always willing to learn and develop my craft. Thank you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.