Petlife logo

The Tails of an Anxious Dog

What happens when you leave a separation anxiety dog home alone?

By Amethyst HayesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I watch as my owner starts to get ready to leave and as I watch her my anxiety rises. She going to be gone just a few hours but for me, it feels like years before I can see her again. She gives me a treat, pats me on the head, and walks out the door. Who knows when I will see her again. I discard the treat and bark at the door for an hour begging her to come back. I go into her bedroom to find the perfect palace to leave her a present. I sit down and let drop the biggest poop a dog has ever pooped. I do it out of spite because she could have taken me with her to work and she did not. She says if she could she would but if I went with her she would be in trouble. I know it’s a lie what place would not allow a cute fluff ball like me.

I find myself even more anxious when I realize I am completely alone in a big place. I do not like to be alone. I lay down in the living room far away from the present I left my mom. I wine a little I bark some more just to see if it would make her come to me. I mean why not when she calls my name I come a running. Unfortunately, she does not walk through the door and I am left to wonder “will she ever come home? Is this the time she has left me for good?”.

I go to see if I can find something to do I go into the bathroom and see a white round thing that must have fallen out of the thing my owner calls the bathroom cabinet. The white round flat ball-looking thing lay there on the floor just begging for me to play with it; and who would I be to tell it no. I start to roll it with my nose and it rolls away from me leaving a white trail as it goes. I start to carry it through the house leaving white streaks as I go. I lay down in the dining room and chew the flat ball to pieces. The room looks like how it sometimes looks outside around the colder part of the year. The room is white and looks like what my owner calls snow. I guess it can snow inside too.

I lay down amongst the snow and close my eyes to take a nap. I got to the point of the day where all my worrying about being alone forever has made me tired. I fall asleep dreaming of playing outside in the snow. I like this time because I fall asleep and it does not feel quite as long before I see my owner again. I wake up from my nap she is still not home. It has only been five hours, it feels like five weeks.

I play with the toys she left out for me. I look at the treat she left me before she left but I can not eat it. Who can eat when they are worried they will be left alone forever. I do not know what to do she has not come home yet. She is not coming, is she? I sit by the door I scratch at it. I try to let the outside world know I am stuck in this place alone forever.

I perk up my ears I hear my owner, she is still far away about a mile but she is on her way home. It might take her a few minutes because she is such a slow walker. Which is another thing why in all the world would she go on a walk without me. Walks are not something you do alone. I wait patiently by the door for her to walk in. After what seems like five hours. I hear her walk up and open the door.

I jump on her almost knocking her over I am so happy to see her. I thought she left me forever. She says hello to me and gives me love and attention. She looks in the dining room and sees the snow. I feel her anger but I do not know why she would be upset. She bends down and picks up all the snow. After she is done she turns to me and said: “bad boy never do this again we do not rip up toilet paper!” I am not sure why she is mad or what she is saying. I hunch low just to show her I am no threat. She walks into her room and I follow still hunched over. She sees the poop and starts yelling again telling me I am a bad boy. I do not know why she comes home always mad.

A few hours later we sit on the couch and cuddle before bed. She pets me on the head. I snuggle in. I am so happy she is my owner. I hope this ends up being the last time she ever leaves me alone. It is not fun being alone.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Amethyst Hayes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.