Petlife logo

The Resuscitation of the Walmart Puppies

BY ANTHONY HOWARD EDMOND

By anthony edmondPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2
The Resuscitation of the Walmart Puppies
Photo by Ricardo IV Tamayo on Unsplash

It was a cold and rainy night and my cousin and I were out driving around listening to music catching up we had not seen each other in a while. Suddenly I remembered my mother had ask me to stop by Walmart and pick up a few things, so we took a detour before heading home. Now mind you I am a sucker for animals and its hard for me to turn away one that is in need. All of Gods creatures deserve love and attention. As I was walking into the store I noticed that there was a mother and her little girl out front giving away puppies I stopped and of coarse looked at them petted them and made friendly conversation with the mother. Now I knew what happened last time I had brought a puppy home my mother was furious and made me find another home for it, "which I did successfully". So I decided I probably shouldn't go through that again it wouldnt be fair to the puppy. So I told the mother and her daughter I would think about it while I was shopping and went inside.

You see I had mixed emotions about this decision at the time my mother had just been diagnosed with stage four lung cancer and was not doing very well and as a 16 year old boy I felt helpless and didn't know what there was I could do for my mother at the time to bring her spirits up. So as I walked through the store I came to the conclusion I was going to surprise my mother with the puppy and make her smile I thought it to be a good idea.

Turns out it was a great idea she was extremely happy and it brought joy to her face, which I had not seen in quite some time well ever since she had gotten the news. She loved the puppy and it loved her it seem to bring her some comfort that she needed. Well three months later my mother had passed away suddenly the cancer had taking a turn for the worse and was very aggressive.

I ended up raising the little puppy whose name was Nina by the way until she was three. This is where the story gets sad... It was fourth of July weekend and I had went out of town to the lake and my neighbor was suppose to be keeping an eye on her because she was pregnant and due to have her own puppies at any moment I didn't to even go to the lake but my brother and cousin talked me into it so I went. You see we had five acres of land and I would never put my dog on a chain I do not believe in it if they are friendly and not aggressive animals it is not morally acceptable to me.

I got a call while we were on our way home from my neighbor saying she had to run some errands and she had tied my dog up to the gazeebo in my yard. I was furious it was a hundred degrees outside and Nina had never been tied up in her life I knew she would freak out.

Well the two hour drive home I could not get my neighbor to answer the phone I knew something was wrong I could feel it. When I got home I had to witness the saddest thing I had ever seen she had had her puppies and had gotten tangled up and could not reach them and there were ten of these little puppies laying in the sun barely not breathing I started to cry and did the only thing I knew to do put the little puppies noses in my mouth and try to breathe life back into them and save them not knowing how long they had been there. After a few minutes of zero success one of the puppies actually took to the resuscitation and started to breathe on its own. I was so joyful I took him inside and cool him off and brought Nina in as well and the puppy began to nurse I was worried he wasn't going to make it. After losing my mother and nine other puppies I just couldn't take it emotionally but the little guy survived and lived a long life of ten years. His name was Puppy and he got me through alot and you could say we both saved each others lives GOD sure works in mysterious was and I am forever thankful that the lord turned that tragedy into a blessing for me.

dog
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.