Petlife logo

The Puppy that Changed Me

A Family Addition that Altered My Mindset

By Bella PuttPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve always been a planner. Even when I was younger, I remember looking ahead, setting goals, and striving to succeed. Having a vision for where I want to go has always been a priority to me.

Over the last few months, however, I’ve realized that this constant mindset has drastic consequences. You see, sometimes I focus so much on achieving goals that I miss out on making memories.

When I was eight or nine, my parents surprised us and decided to adopt a puppy. Two puppies had been dumped at a close friend’s house, battered and bruised, and in need of homes. Being a young girl with three other siblings, my parents saw this as the perfect opportunity to teach us responsibility at a young age. So, when our friends chose to adopt the male, my parents were quick to make the female a part of our family.

I honestly can’t remember all the details of adopting our sweet puppy. She was a few months old at the time, but small and timid. I remember the way she cowered at our feet, as though she had been beaten by a former owner. Her long ears flopped around her face and drool drizzled from her mouth. The mud clinging to her chocolate coat was a testimony to the pain and adventure she and her brother had experienced.

To this day, my family has no idea where our precious Jessie came from. But it doesn’t matter, really. Bringing her into our family was one of the best decisions we ever made.

When I look back on my childhood, I will always remember the beautiful dog I helped raise. The dog I attempted to train when I had no idea what I was doing. The dog I spent countless hours playing with, caring for, and loving. I’ll never forget the nights I lay awake, listening to her bark and howl. Obviously her part-Bloodhound, part-Labrador nature had no respect for our sleep. She’s chewed and destroyed numerous things. We've sprained ankles from holes she's dug in the yard. Although we laugh about it now, we know that nothing was ever perfect. Even the best things require sacrifice.

The thing is, our lives are overflowing with pets, people, jobs, sports, etc. that bring us joy and happiness. But an experience or memory is just that--and experience or memory. Most of them don’t have a lasting impact on our lives. No, the ones that have the most impact are the ones that change us. The ones that make us better.

And that’s exactly what adopting Jessie did to me. I didn’t even realize it until a few weeks ago, but bringing Jessie into our family taught me something that has (and is) making me a better person.

You see, Jessie--our sweet, lovable dog--has taught me to slow down. She’s encouraged me to just take it easy and enjoy life. Our precious dog has no concept of the future and success. Although the people in my life may push me to achieve my dreams and succeed, all Jessie wants is for me to live in the moment and love her.

While having dreams and goals for the future can be a good thing, sometimes I just need to enjoy the things right in front of me.

This is how I know that adopting Jessie into our family was worth it. Yes, she’s brought us boundless joy and happiness. She’s given us endless memories and stories to share. But ultimately, she’s taught me something and made me a better person.

If you're looking to adopt a pet into your family, I'll warn you ahead of time that it won't be perfect. There will be difficulties and complications. But chances are, it will be worth it. Because I know from experience that it is.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.