Petlife logo

THE NIGHT BEFORE HALLOWEEN

A Cat's Tale

By Babs IversonPublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Magic, a.k.a. Santa Claws

Hello! My name is Magic! Yes, I am a black cat. As for holidays, my favorite is Christmas! Historically, black cats have been associated with Halloween. It goes back to the Pilgrims. Their witchhunt views. Go figure! While some consider black cats bad luck, in other cultures, black cats are considered lucky and bring affluence. My preference is the latter.

While Jasmine thinks she is the boss around our house, my magic powers can put my brothers and sisters and my humans under a magical spell. For example, last year my heart and mind weren't into Halloween. Wanted nothing to do with the Boo! Wicked! Scary! No more Halloween! Yep, Halloween needs to change. My Halloween spell did the trick! Let me tell you what happened.

Because dressing up is a Halloween tradition, my costume of choice last year was geared toward my favorite holiday. You guessed it! It started with me dressing as Santa Claus. Calling myself Santa Claws, the night before Halloween was spell night. Not to brag! It was easy peasy to put my humans and my brothers and sisters under a magical spell.

Twinkle, a.k.a. Elf

With my sidekick and assistant, Twinkle was Santa's helper, Elf. Admittedly, Elf did everything that was asked after being placed under my Halloween spell. In all fairness, Twinkle loves Christmas too. Twinkle, I mean, Elf was ready to celebrate with a hearty Ho! Ho! Ho! That sounded like a jovial. Meow! Meow! Meow!

While my human teen girls were a little bit harder to put under my Halloween spell, the girls followed my every command. Of course, playing Silent Night while they were sleeping, was the final touch.

On Halloween, they dressed as Christmas Carolers. Walking through the neighborhood, they sang Silent Night, Jingle Bells, and other Christmas songs. While I secretly followed behind them, the residents at every home tried to give them candy or salty treats. Politely, the girls always refused. Sweetly, the girls would leave their neighbors' homes with a cheerful and joyful Merry Christmas!

Arriving home instead of hot apple cider, the girls made hot chocolate with marshmallows. After their hot chocolate, the artificial Christmas tree was assembled and decorated. While the Christmas music played at full volume, my happiness was over the moon. Listening to the music, Elf, in full holiday spirits, danced around the house. In all fairness, it reminded me of the movie that we watched years ago with the girls, Christmas Don't Be Late with those cute little chipmunks.

Once the house was completely decorated for Christmas, at my suggestion, of course, they made calls to all their friends and nonfriends. Naturally, with my curiosity, the phone conservations were definitely worth listening to what was being said. Unfortunately, only one side of the conversation could be heard. When a person answered, they were to ask, "What do you want for Christmas?" If they mentioned the word Halloween, the girls would immediately hang up. After making 100 calls more or less, they were to go to sleep and not remember anything about our Christmas celebration on Halloween.

Magic, a.k.a. Baby Yoda

After they fell fast asleep, my costume change took place. Changing my Santa Claus outfit to Baby Yoda, the girls awakened with no memory of our Christmas celebration for Halloween. Besides that, no one remembered decorating the house for Christmas; however, the house was decorated for Christmas. We had two wonderful months of merriment. Lucky me!

That next morning, the girls saw me in the Baby Yoda costume. It went over well. It was a big hit! With the girls thinking about Star Wars, it gave me a fantastic idea. Thoughts of future Halloweens danced in my head, my mind was in hyperdrive. By the way, hyperdrive is faster than warp drive.

With a new year, it's finally October. Do know what that means? It's time for caramel popcorn, caramel apples, and caramel candy. All things my human girls love to eat. So, this month is Halloween. Yep! The countdown to Halloween has begun. With Halloween a few weeks away, my plans for a Star Wars-themed Christmas celebration for Halloween are taking shape.

Since my Baby Yoda costume from last year will fit the theme, we will need Star Wars Christmas tree decorations, Star Wars cupcakes, and a spacecraft. Procuring a spacecraft might be more than my magic spells can conjure up. Well, if mice can make a carriage out of a pumpkin, it's just an idea.

Having plenty of time to perfect my magic spell, it's my may the force be with you spell, can't wait for this year's the night before Halloween.

Writer's notes: This story is entered into the Tall Tail Challenge. It was previously submitted into the Critter Costume Challenge story. Thank you for reading.

If you liked it, please give it a heart. While a tip is appreciated, it isn't necessary. Acknowledgment: my daughter provided these cute costumed pet pictures for this story.

This pet life story is dedicated to my grandkids.

cat

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Phil Flannery6 months ago

    Sorry you lost Magic, she was beautiful.

  • Lori Melton6 months ago

    What a sweet story- I’m so sorry you lost magic- my cat, Kitty Girl, is everything to me. My heart is with you Babs! 💕😢

  • Call Me Les6 months ago

    I remember this story from way back when it was first published. I'm so sorry Babs. He was a wonderful kitty. And did a fabulous job as the lead in the story!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    I'm so sorry she's crossed over, but happy you preserved this memory! Hugs!

  • I always love a good ale about cats great Job Babs

  • Veronica Coldiron6 months ago

    What a lovely story! I was so sad to hear of Magic's traveling over the Rainbow Bridge, but I'm glad you have such beautiful memories!! 💙

  • I had already hearted but I can now comment on this wonderful story

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Super cute!

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    I love black cats! Though the two in my home right now are 1 calico and the other a grey & white - both are plenty demanding & awful good spell-casters! Cute story! 🐱

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    This is a delightful story about your furry friends and their Christmas/Halloween celebration. Although I loved the Santa costume, I think I like the little Baby Yoda best. Well done!

  • Too sweet

  • Awww, Santa Claws and Baby Yoda! He's so adorable! A very wonderful story!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is wonderful. Previously hearted but I enjoyed the reread.

  • Angela Derscha2 years ago

    Adorable!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    I hearted this when it was first got published, I still enjoyed reading like it was my first time. Love it. Magic is so adorable if I can used the word .

Babs IversonWritten by Babs Iverson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.