Petlife logo

The last family member

For my rainbow friend

By Abigail SpringPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The last family member
Photo by Quaritsch Photography on Unsplash

I haven’t had a fur friend to call my own growing up. I do now, yes I finally caved and got myself not one but two kittens but this story isn’t about those two maniacs. This story goes back 5 years ago, when I started working at an animal hospital.

I am a Veterinary Technician Assistant at a well known and fast growing Animal Hospital and I started working there the second year of the Hospitals existence. I have seen many pets come and go, I have seen both the best and the worst that the field has to offer. I am going to share one story that has been with me through the years.

This is the story of Pico. A sweet and older Siamese kitty. He was a handsome little guy with white soft fur and beautiful seal point coloring. He had incredible crystal blue eyes and the sweetest little face. His dad was an older gentleman too and he didn’t have the money to keep Pico.

We had offered for him to surrender Pico so he could be cared for, not that the dad didn’t care for him, we all know that he absolutely loved Pico. The dad signed him over to us and we were heartbroken for the dad. We all fell for Pico, I ended up taking care of him being the only assistant. I fell hard for Pico and started calling him my “Pico de Gallo” and I would cuddle him frequently.

Some people say that animals don’t feel emotions, or that they can’t show emotion. This is definitely the most false statement I have ever heard uttered. No amount of affection or treats, or comfort could erase the sorrow reflected on Pico’s face when he realized his dad wasn’t coming back.

The days turned into months. His eyes, which were once bright and wide, had become slanted and dull. I can’t fully explain it, but I could see his anguish reflected in them and I could feel his depression. My heart was shattering for him.

It was no one’s fault and nothing could be done to fix it. I wanted to kiss and hug away his depression but found that I could not. He was healthy when he was surrendered to us but after a month he stopped wanting to eat. He drank in small portions and he no longer wanted his cuddle sessions or his room roaming time. He took to sleeping as his go to time.

We gave him some appetite stimulants in hopes that we could get him eating again but it didn’t help. I would hold him in my arms and he would fall asleep in them purring loudly. He had stopped grooming himself and we decided to take a look at what was going on inside. We found out that he had developed an abdominal tumor. My little Pico de Gallo was dying.

I gave him double the amount of blankets and the softest and squishiest beds that I could find. The doctor decided it was best that we end his suffering. His tumor was too aggressive and no one would want to adopt a old cat that had a month to live at tops. We were all devastated and we had all treated him like our own.

I had felt like I had adopted him and I didn’t realize this until the doctor made the call. I held him close as they set the catheter and I covered the floor with poofy blankets. My coworker, who had also grown close to him held him tight to her chest as they both lay on the floor for the euthanasia. I held his paw as the doctor pushed the drug and Pico became sad no more.

This is my favorite memory because this is where my heart learned to really fall in love. Love at first sight is a constant in the vet field but Pico was the first to really show me that.

I hope to one day cuddle him again at the rainbow bridge and I hope that he and his dad are reunited joyfully. He was the best and sweetest kitty. Rest well my Pico de Gallo.you are forever in my heart. ❤️ 🐾❤️

adoptioncathealthvet
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Spring

YHWH first and foremost.

I have always loved coming up with stories but haven’t been the best writer. I love doing other hobbies such as playing my violin, painting birds, and adventuring with my husband. 💚

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.