Petlife logo

The homeless and their pets

A man's best friend d

By Stephanysays.blogPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Pets of the homeless

I know you've all heard of the good ol' saying A dog is a man's best friend. I used to be a cat person but some where along the way I found myself with the cutest 4 week old all white miniture poodle/chihuahua who I named Lucky. How typical... He was who I considered to be my son. I ended up homeless after my boyfriend went to jail. Now that I think back I've been trying to fill a void with dogs to replace the love of my life who is still currently serving time. Yet I had convinced myself my son Lucky needed a companion. Yes I got my dog, a dog! Now my mother was stuck babysitting 2 grandchildren Lucky and Loki which she eventually got fed up with and refusing to enable my irresponsibility any longer she sent them to live with me indefinitely. I had no idea how to care for 2 dogs 24 hours, 7 days a week and remind you I was living on the streets. If all of this wasn't enough a small Jack Russell I now call chupies decided to adopt me and refused to leave. He turned out to be the most Loyal and protective dog I have. He would die protecting me without hesitation and I for him. Needless to say I was overwhelmed but my heart as big as it is found a way to adapt. It took me months to get used to taking care of them. Feeding, training, bathing, cleaning, screaming, breaking up fights and the biggest challenge of all locking them up before I could even cross the street. Loki is an escape artist and dogs learn fast. It only takes them seeing 1 dog do something for them all to learn the bad habits. Loki has been hit by a car. His leg was split down the middle but thanks to Pets of the Homeless and the East Bay spca he recovered 100%. My dogs are all vaccinated, chipped, spayed, and nutured. The resources are out there even if you don't have a dime you just have to go out and look for them. I'm a homeless woman who often builds in homeless encampments or as they're called tent cities. My dogs which now is a total of 6 Loki, Chupies, oso, Lucy, Minnie, and My lil Fat Daddy I've yet to name plus 1 kitten i think I'm naming Cat (she's a bigger handful than all the dogs put together) I now care for effortlessly. They keep me safe and warm at night. They keep me on my toes. Days when I don't want to keep pushing forward or even get out of bed I hear 1 bark and remember I have to. They're my responsibility if I don't feed them then they won't eat. I owe them my sanity. I truly believe if it wasn't for these crazy amazing little creatures I wouldn't be as humble, grounded, responsible, or sain as I am today after 2 very hard years. I get overwhelmed yes because they are a great responsibility and it isn't easy by any means especially financially but I would never give them up because they're the most loyal and loving creatures put on this planet. If you see homeless people with pets or dogs who aren't as fortunate as I am to care for their animals before you judge them or call the pound why don't you see what you can do to help. Buy a bag of food or some flea medicine. Help them search for resources before you call animal control because I guarantee no one on this planet can love a pet more then their owner and the pound is no better place for them to be. My Lucky was picked up and it cost $372 for me to get him back only for my baby to die in my arms because he got sick in the animal shelter. I'm homeless, I'm a drug addict and I'm not proud of it but I'm not ashamed either. I'm barely getting a grasp on life and I know my dogs play a huge role in why I haven't completely lost my way. My dogs are fat and healthy, flea free, chipped, vaccinated, and happy. Stop taking pets away from the homeless and help them instead of judging their situation. You don't know what that cat or dog may mean to them and you don't know what they might mean to that cat or dog.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Stephanysays.blog

I am an aspiring freelance writer and currently an undergraduate pursing my associates degree in Liberal Arts and Humanities. I just want to change the world and make it a better place; I have 6 dogs. I love ART!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.