Petlife logo

Rescued

My rescue

By Shawna KinleyPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

It was a rainy, cold afternoon, the wind was blowing, and it was definitely not a day that I wanted to go grocery shopping. It was one of those days that I could have stayed in bed all day, like many days. The struggle was real. Major depression was a part of my life, but I had to keep going, pushing myself to do even the smallest of task. I pulled myself together and headed out. What I didn’t know was a little miracle would come into my life that day.

I entered the automated doors of the grocery store and right in front of me, I saw him, shaking off the rain and shivering, just trying to get out of the cold.

"Did you know there is a dog in here?" I said, to someone who worked there.

"Yes," he replied, "he has been trying to get in all day."

"No one has offered to take him?" I asked

"No," he said.

I immediately picked him up. His little body was old and frail. His nose was crooked and his breath was almost unbearable. I could not leave him there. Needless to say, my grocery shopping did not get accomplished that day. I left to see if I could find his home—surely he just wandered off. I stopped at several homes nearby, but no one was missing him or knew him. My only option was to take him home and try to find his owner. I exhausted every option. No one was missing him. "I will find him a home," I told my husband. What I didn’t know was that Rusty (the name we gave him) would change my life forever. My husband and I had been married seventeen years and had never had an indoor dog, so this was a big adjustment for both of us. Everyone that I asked, no one had room for this little man.

As time went on, a few weeks, I was starting to get attached. You see, Rusty was sweet and kind and seemed grateful for his new home. God knew that I had been praying for a miracle. My depression was not improving and my life seemed meaningless, and some days I did not want to live. I would have never thought that a precious animal would change my life forever. There was this special bond between us that I can’t explain. We were meant to be together. Yes, I rescued this sweet boy, but most of all he rescued me and I am forever grateful that on that rainy, cold day, God placed him into my life. Rusty, taken over by cancer, is gone now, but I will never forget the love that he showed me, allowing me to love him, while healing.

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.