Petlife logo

My Hamster Son

Animals and Family

By Mariah MurrayPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Pets are wonderful living creatures. We all had a pet that we loved dearly and considered them more than just a pet; they are part of the family. We have a hamster name Ace. We named him Ace because he is a clever little fella.

I’m going be honest when it comes to animals I’m not a huge fan. Sometimes it requires a lot of responsibility. You want to keep them healthy and they deserve all the love. Animals feel pain and hurt too. When we got Ace he changed my heart. I never thought I will feel that way. When we chose him we were looking for a hamster that was active. Ace was definitely active. He was running so fast on the wheel he couldn’t even keep up with his own speed. My son and I stood there laughing. My son said “mom I want him.” He was so loving and easy to get use to. Ace is very alert and likes to go outside. He likes the the attention from everyone. Ace is unique because he is very lovable. I say that because when we show him love he shows it back. He likes to be held and give kisses.

One day my son accidentally left the cage open and he got out. By the way Ace is daredevil he will climb on anything and take the risk of eating food that he shouldn’t. Ace was missing for 5 hours. I was so heart broken. I was scared because we lived in an apartment and I didn’t want other people thinking he was a mouse and hurt him. My son cried. We stopped looking and waited. Finally, we heard scratching behind the refrigerator. I pulled the refrigerator out and there he was. I yelled Ace and picked him up. I said to myself ''look at him thinking he so innocent''. He looked scared. We assured him he was safe. We knew he was hungry , he was nibbling at our fingers. We put in the cage and he immediately stuffed his little face and my son and I stood there laughing. I told my son he is very clever he knows the apartment very well. I say he is clever because he knows where it’s most warm in the house. Everytime we put him in his hamster ball so he can exercise, he goes to the bathroom behind the toilet. Hamster come from very warm climates so they like the heat. He also stores food he stuffs as much food as he can into his mouth than goes under his bedding and stores it.

Campbell Dwarf hamsters are species of hamsters in the genus Phodopus. Oldfield Thomas named these hamsters after Charles William Campbell.He collected the first specimen in Mongolia on July 1, 1902. Dwarf are related to Djungarian hamsters. a It has smaller ears and no dark fur on its crown. Dwarf hamsters typically have a narrow dorsal stripe. I like to educate on where our hamster came from. Knowing certain facts can help your animal adjust very well. Ace came from certain parts of Asia or Europe. They live in desserts or close to them. That why he likes the bathroom so much. Lol!

Ace loves celery and sunflower seeds. Sometimes we use these as bribes when we notice Ace has been sleeping a lot. We use it to get him out the cage to exercise. Ace has one dislike and that is baths. One day I was giving him a bath and he got out of the container we got for him. Hamsters can’t swim so we use powder to make his fur smell good. I turned around to get his little brush and all see is little powder feet ending as his cage. I tapped the cage to see if he was in there he was hiding under the bedding. He pops up looking at me with those black bolging eyes. He looks so cute because he was still white. from the powder. I was amazed how fast he is.

I never thought a little creature like him would bring so much laughter and love. People are in shocked that we had him for 2 years now. I feel an animal should be treat with respect. They need to be loved like humans.

We got Ace February 19,2018. We have celebrated that day. I buy him a new toy. The first toy he got were tubes put on his cage. He loved it and it keeps him active. This year we got him a hamster wheel that looks like a car. he looks so darn cute I might get him glasses to match. My son thinks its to much. I claim Ace as my other child, so when others ask how many children do I tell them I have two children. I consider Ace my hamster son. My son, Josiah says that a little to much. Soon after he started saying Ace was his brother. Josiah tells all his friends he has a little brother; so when they come there like Josiah where is your brother? Josiah says in the cage, his name is Ace.Lol! People probably look at us like we are werid. I tell Josiah make you inform people you are referring to a hamster.

My Attention is somewhere else.

hamster
1

About the Creator

Mariah Murray

Hi my name is Mariah Murray. I am 25 years old. I am East Chicago,Indiana. I like to write especially about my personal and what happened in my own life. I love to inspire people. Check me out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.