Petlife logo

My Cats: Origins

a story of my first cat

By Irman NovriandiPublished 10 months ago 3 min read

The year is 2014 and i am just arrive from work and get home to my small shared room in Southern of Jakarta, Indonesia. My room were small but have a direct access to a small aisle in my shared room complex.

After i am arriving in my room, i noticed that outside a female cat with a big belly walking slowly passing my room door. I called her several times, she noticed and come over to my room.

Long time ago my family has some cat pets in the house, so i can recognize which are male or female. She is a stray cats because she didn't equipped with collar around her neck.

She is an average domestic house cat, a calico cat with gold, yellow and black color. Her belly were fat because she is pregnant. Oh yes i give name "Oncom" to her, a random name just because i am eating Oncom while i give her the name.

Oncom itself is a local indonesian cracker originated from West Java, Oncom were related to Tempeh, local snack created from fermented soy pulp.

At that time i don't have any leftover food in my room, so i cannot give her some food, instead i caress her head and her back, luckly she didn't bite or attack me at that time.

Skip to the next day, on the way back to my shared room. i am stop by in a local restaurant and purchase take-away food for my dinner and not forget i am buying some fish and chicken for the cat, if she were passing my room again.

When i am arrive at my room, she coincidentally are walking near my room again, i called her to come over and she did. I give her the fish and chicken, i purchased earlier and she happily consume all of it.

A common believe in Indonesia says that if we give foods to a cat, she will always back to your places and it did, tommorow evening and the day after that she always come and hoping for food or just some caress.

While not eating or asking for caress, Oncom are not feel at home when roaming inside my small room. She just sniffing several corner, curious for several items and then she just decide, oh i will leave this room.

Several weeks later she were screaming in front of my room and i find out that she are about to give birth, she give birth 1 female kitten which have the same color with the mother.

Not for long she put her kitten in front of my room while she were roaming the neighborhood everyday. She is like just saying "Can i entrust my daughter with you and leave her here?".

A couple month later, her kitten already grown up and like to play inside my room, while her mother now rarely seen walking near my room anymore.

When i am moving from the shared room to a rent house in 2016, i bring the kitten with me along. I give name "Oncom Jr." to the kitten as a descendant and memento from her mother "Oncom Sr.".

Oncom Jr. later is have the same characteristic like her mother of not like if locked inside house, she will find any ways to get out from the house, this include by breaking some of the roof to find the way out.

Because Oncom Jr. like to roaming outside, she get mate by neighbour male cat. Because of this in the end of 2016, she give birth to 5 funny kittens, 3 males and 2 females.

Now i have already care 3 generatios of cat, starting from Oncom Sr. to Oncom Jr and her children. Now in 2023, some of Oncom Sr. grand children are still stay with me.

cat

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    INWritten by Irman Novriandi

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.