Petlife logo

Lily's Choice

Yeah, they all wanted me. But only he needed me.

By AC TroiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
"Lily of Troi" Photo by AC Troi

Hey bitches. My name is Lily of Troi. And this is the start of my story.

Well, our story.

It’s strange because he tells people I had a life before we met. Three whole years!

But honestly I don’t recall anything before us. It feels like life began that first day, the very moment we laid eyes on each other. It was love at first sight and everyone knows, love is all that really matters.

I remember that day like it was yesterday even though some thirteen years have passed.

Thirteen is his favorite number by the way. Gee, I guess we know every silly little thing about each other. Well, I know everything about him. Sometimes he misses things that are right in front of his face but I suppose that’s why God brought us together.

But, let’s get back to that day. I was having a snooze with one eye open, you know how you do when you’re waiting for something big, something of real consequence to happen?

Suddenly, there he was. He wasn’t particularly big but he was kinda cute, and definitely keen so I lifted my head from the sofa cushions.

See, I had been lounging on this ugly sofa they had provided me at this friendly little place called the San Diego Humane Society motel.

I don’t mind telling you I was still a little surprised that it had become my home for the last week or so. Not that I’m complaining. The food was yummy and they doted on me hand and foot, I mean, hand and paw. No. Paw and paw?

That doesn’t sound right either, but the point is they were all real nice because, well, I was a little sad.

Yeah. It was lonely. And I needed a change.

Lily's Eyes

Anyway, and this is the important bit, when I lifted my head we locked eyes through the thick glass window. I have remarkable eyes. I know that sounds like boasting but people have said it all my life.

They’ll exclaim, all gushy-like, “Oh my, her eyes are so beautiful and soulful.”

Or sometimes, “Look at those eyes, so deep and spiritual.”

And why should I deny it?

I strongly believe “it is just as false not to blow your own horn as it is to blow it too loudly.”

Ha.

You know, that’s a quote from one of his favorite movies, All About Eve. That should clue you into the fact that I never had to share him with another girl. No, he never looked at any other good girl the way he looked at me and upon reflection, I suppose I knew right away.

He Needed Me

I mentioned previously that he was kinda cute-like, in a dumb, golden retriever sort of way, and I’ve always been partial to the sweet dopey type. So I slowly stepped down from that ugly sofa and sauntered over to the window.

Looking up, I stared intensely into his eyes and wagged my tail…once.

I didn’t want to confuse him with a lot of tail-wagging, spinning, or look-at-me action. No, he needed me and because he didn’t know it, I kept it simple.

Like so many other guys, he was pretty slow on the uptake and was under the impression that he was saving me. Isn’t that adorable?

Men!

Well, he smiled at that solo wag. Actually, he smirked.

Maybe not completely clueless, I thought. I can work with this. And then off he went to check me outta that joint.

Or so I thought.

About 10 minutes later, he came back and you’re not going to believe this: He expected me to audition! Can you imagine?

No matter!

I was the Original BCD (Border Collie Diva) and I had them rolling over and fetching with my Roxie Hart in Chicago the Musical, shake-it-til-you-break-it, sit-stay performance.

...I'm a star and the audience loves me and I love them and they love me for loving them and we love each other. And that's because none of us got enough love in our childhood. And that's showbiz, kid!

It had ALWAYS worked before. You know, two of the vets, two of the trainers, and the front desk lady at that little motel all wanted to take me home.

But I chose him.

And he chose me.

And we lived happily ever after cuz like I said, “That’s showbiz, kid.”

adoption

About the Creator

AC Troi

240 character bio?

I mean, do I say, "Today I'm all about love."

Or perhaps, "I'm a writer, singer, recovering addict, and courage coach."

Or simply, "I hope you laugh, cry, and feel love when you're here."

Yeah. That's it.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    AC TroiWritten by AC Troi

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.