Petlife logo

King Of The Bed

It's Our Bed!

By Tania M. Cortez HamiltonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
King Of The Bed
Photo by Ruby Schmank on Unsplash

It's not easy to train a fur baby to stay in their bed. When they're not old enough to know any better. Why?, because they're too cute! When they're puppies, you can do anything you want with them. When they get old, they have a mind of their own. They get scared easily with anything, even when they get old. So, you grab them and wrap them up, and you go to sleep with them in your bed. You do just about anything to make them feel protected and loved. Pets are like children, they're innocent and vulnerable. And where do they end up sleeping? They sleep in your bed, pretty much all the time. Going to work is hard because you have to leave your baby, and it makes you sad to leave them. Don't let those sad eyes fool you. When you leave, they go to their happy place. And that place is your bed.

Have you ever wondered who sleeps in your bed when you're not home? We did our best to train Preston to sleep in his bed. We have bought him so many different beds, so he could be comfortable in his own bed. Nothing we've tried has ever worked for us. Preston loves to go under our blanket and stays there until he gets hot. When it's his time to go to bed, he comes to me and scratches my arm with his paw. I let him get under the blanket, and he lays next to me. That's his bedtime routine. He will then come out huffing and puffing after a while. Throughout the night he moves around the bed, until he finds a good spot to sleep. I know for a fact that he wants to be close to us to stay warm. Preston doesn't have much fur, it breaks my heart when it's cold and I see him shaking. His favorite spot is right in the middle of my husband and I.

I never thought that sleeping with a dog would be an adventure. I have ended up sleeping on the edge of our bed. My husband has slept on the floor once. Preston gets scared of the rain and thunder. One night, Preston was so scared of thunder. I thought it was a funny night, but I felt bad for my husband. He kept climbing on my husband's head all night when he heard thunder. My poor husband had to sleep on the couch that night. Sometimes I don't have a pillow, because Preston sleeps on it. If we get lucky, we can cover ourselves with our own blanket, if not, Preston takes them all.

It's 3:36 am, and I get up to use the restroom. Everyone is sleeping, so I get up quietly and go. I'm done and walk back to the bed, but I lost my spot because Preston took it. And he took my blanket too, so now I have to go look for another one because I'm cold. There have been times when Preston takes our pillows. I don't have the heart to bother him, but then we suffer because we can't sleep. A long time ago I learned that dogs can manipulate us. When they want something, we will give it to them because they're so cute.

We've had so many incidents happen in our bed. There was a night when I didn't feel like working. I was planning on getting plenty of rest, but I was wrong. Something didn't settle in Preston's stomach, and I stayed up with him all night until he was better. I had to wash all of our blankets the next day. You will never be able to have white bedding, because there will always be evidence that somebody was there.

One time, we took Preston out for a ride with us. When he jumped up to get on the back seat, he hurt his spine. Preston was not able to move around much and couldn't sleep in our bed after that. He was having problems with his spine now because he's an older dog. I felt so bad for him, so I slept next to him on the floor until he got better. We've had a lot of sleepless nights with Preston.

Your pet will always sleep on your bed, no matter what you do. But that's a good thing though. When you're not home, your pet has a happy place to go to when they miss you. We think that Preston feels secure on our bed, and the bed has our scent. I think that Preston is a very lucky dog because he has so many beds to sleep on. He has two couches and our bed, of course. His favorite one will always be, our bed.

dog

About the Creator

Tania M. Cortez Hamilton

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tania M. Cortez HamiltonWritten by Tania M. Cortez Hamilton

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.