Petlife logo

Grief for a pet

How to handle a euthanasia

By Nita Published 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Black Cat Greeting Card by Lisa Parker

Hello Beautiful People!

Yesterday was one of the hardest things in my life that I had to do, which was to say goodbye to my first and only baby boy at the time before I had my son. I adopted a black kitten back in 2006 of April. He was the only kitten left behind in SPCA, and they didn't even know he was in there at all. So immedately I fell in love. I took him home and he was only weeks old, and I kept his name as Midnight.

Midnight was the perfect cat for; even though he ran away from home for three months. He eventually came back home and covered in sap. But never the less, once he was home he never left my side and followed me everywhere.

I will never get use to not leaving the tub faucet run a little so he could drink some anytime he wants or leaving my door cracked to the bedroom so he could crawl into bed with me.

For a while for pet owners you try to think that your pet will be okay, that you have more than enough time with your baby; but when reality sets- its all over. I wasn't ready to say goodbye, but I know he was in pain.

What I will never get over is how he left me and the process of his euthanasia at Animal Emergency and Referral Center of York- located in Pennsylvania. I worked in a Pet-ER before and know what to aspect and how my experience should be- the customer service was horrible and their was no compassion. I had to wait after getting to this facility forty-five minutes for them to give me back my baby Midnight. They only had to put a IV in his arm and then to find out they also got his clay paw print.

He was a good boy for them and no complications until I received him back; after ringing the room bell and finally calling the front desk to ask for an update on my baby. After I gave Midnight his favorite treats, I got him ready by grooming him and having a long cuddle session. I ringed the bell for the procedure to begin, right before I was about to call the front office again- the doctor enters the room.

At this time I'm out of it and my partner Rob is in the room and he's not saying a word. The doctor helped me get a cloth underneath Midnight and asked me if I was ready for the first dose to help relax him- I nodded yes. After that I wasn't paying attention and the doctor asked me if I was ready for the last dose and I don't remember nodding or anything. The WHOLE time my head is down looking at Midnight, I could feel his heart beat and I just wanted him to be relaxed. (But he wasn't, so I wanted to wait until he was ready) Appartently, I said yes and the doctor injested the IV with the last injection and Midnight head just fell in my lap.

I remember getting his body in a better positon before the doctor, listened to his heart and organs and then he took him away. The doctor was compassionate I guess enough but the staff at front desk does not kow anything about compassion and understanding the situation is very delicate and you have to have patience.

I hope and pray other pet owners didn't have to go through, I went through or even had better experiences. I just wanted to vent, because I didn't have a chance to write and reflect on that dreadful day. The most importnet part is that Midnight is no longer suffering, he was sick and is now in heaven with our other cat Milo. I love you all and thank you for all your support.

Best Wishes,

Anita

cat
Like

About the Creator

Nita

Blog - Mini Stories - Art

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.