Petlife logo

Feline Soulmate

Entering my Life at Just the Right Time

By PaigePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Always watching.

Throughout my 29 years of life, I have had many pets. I grew up in a home, in the country, with a family that loved animals. My mom was always bringing home strays, cats mostly but occasionally a pooch or two. So I was raised to love all animals. Which, aside from my unnatural fear of snakes, is a trait I've maintained through adulthood. Animals are just another beauty to grace our earth that humans take for granted. So throughout my childhood, pets were always present in my home. Fast forward to about a month before my 18th birthday, when I met one of the biggest life lessons to cross my path. A dark path that stole 7 years of my life and was used to shape and mold me into who I am today. I moved in with and experienced a very toxic relationship with a very abusive man. He was my first real relationship in every aspect. He was your typical narcissist; over controlling, manipulative, untrusting, gas lighting, emotionally, mentally, physically abusive.

I didn't know any better at the time. I had never really dated or held any real relationship with anyone before him. Because of that I ended up trapped. I let him convince me I was crazy and irrational and was convinced that all normal relationships were that way in some form or another. I let him threaten me and hurt me until I was broken down so low I didn't know if I could even be saved. One of the many things that was kept from me while in that prison was pets, animal companions of any kind. He didn't care for them so I got to experience my first prolonged amount of time without having a furry companion. However, we did have two beautiful baby boys together. The greatest blessings I've ever been given and ultimitly what saved me.

Your story doesn't end here.

The whole year of 2016 things escalated to near deadly and horrific points no woman (or man) should ever have to endure from their significant other. I don't know how the series of events led up to the ending that it did but I finally found my escape. December 2016 I finally found the help and courage and I ran. I sought shelter at a domestic violence place and they helped me recover and learn everything I needed to, to be a functioning single mother and adult on my own. Which was incredibly hard to learn as fast as I had to.

I learned many lessons from my past and my trauma. And in the end I survived and I grew myself in ways I didn't know I could. I eventually got my own place and started making enough money to sustain my children and me. Then about a year after my great escape, I decided it was time to bring a new member into the family. And then I found her. A furry little feline who needed help. I was scrolling through social media and I saw a shared post about this pretty little feline who was in need of a home after being surrendered due to being pregnant. I automatically fell in love when I saw her picture. All the kittens had already been claimed but no one wanted mama. They were going to send her away to a shelter as soon as she was fixed and healed and the babies picked up. I didn't even hesitate. I contacted the foster home and 4 days later and several pleading conversations with my landlord, I was bringing my beautiful little Ivy home.

She was gorgeous. She was barely over a year old. She didn't hiss or fight me or my very young kids. She didn't even hide from us when we first brought her home. I was in love. She would sit and watch my boys as they played and loved to sleep next to me at night. She was so comfortable in her new home almost immediately. And though I knew she would become part of our family and adjust quickly, I had no idea just how important she would become to me and my journey of healing.

Purr-fect cuddle buddy.

After what I endured in life, I accumulated a vast collection of mental issues. Anxiety proved to be the stronger of these struggles. I would have panic attacks, episodes that could have me down for days. I had to de-program the way I thought about myself and about those around me. It was hard. I still struggle with a lot of it to this very day. But, little did I know, something so small and furry could help me so much. She started to cling to me. It's like she could sense when I was having a harder time than usual. She would find me, wherever I was hiding to cry or "breathe" through the episodes. She would find me and she would do everything she could to get my attention. To make me smile. She would meow and purr, rub against my face until I stopped crying or at least started breathing normally again. She was so attentive and so concerned. I had never experienced this type of behavior from any animal in my entire life of being around them. She was my angel.

It's been several years now and she is still just as caring as always. She has claimed me as her human, so she is primarily in my presence. She does love my boys as well though. When they are playing she will jump in the middle and steal their toys. Making it a game of catch me if you can. She watches them attentively when they are rough housing or running around. And when they are calm, watching tv or simply cuddling in my bed, she will nuzzle up close to them for warmth or attention. She doesn't hiss at them but will give them a light pat and warning meow if they get a bit to carried away with her. She is our sassy, lovey girl and the boys absolutely adore her. They were both toddlers when I first got her so they don't really remember a time when she wasn't around. It was my oldest that gave her, her name. Ivy, from Batman of course.

Morning Cuddles with her small human.

We have had several other pets since we got miss Ivy. But she remains the patriarch of the animal family in our home. Putting my two other young cats in line when needed. At night, she sleeps on a pillow just above my head. When I'm having a rough time she immediately senses the changes in my tone and body language. She still goes out of her way to help in every way she can, to comfort me. She has gotten quite a bit spoiled over the years though. She will even vocally argue with me at times. She has such a huge personality for something so small and unhuman. I am so blessed to have such an amazing creature in my life and only hope she knows just how much she is loved and how well she fits in our little family. Pets hold a very special place in our hearts. We should do better for our furry friends. They understand more than we could ever imagine.

“Cats are connoisseurs of comfort.” – James Herriot

cat
1

About the Creator

Paige

💖Trying to turn dreams into a reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.