Petlife logo

Farmland To Homeland

Brigadoo Briggs Doey's Journey

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Purebread - Collie (looked a lot like Lassie)

Registered, Papered and Ready for show. Roaming the beautiful farmlands on the outskirts of Woodstock, Ontario was Brigadoo's place called "home".

Sadly just before her 2nd Birthday the owners had to sell the farm and downsize to live in a smaller home. They went everywhere to find a good home for her. The shelters,the vets and even through other Collie owners that they had known over the years. Sadly there was no home for Brigadoo,"Briggs".

Getting very discouraged it came to the point that they felt they might have to put her down, (the vet said he would keep spreading the word). The dog was young, well behaved and any good family would love her.

Touring Everywhere In Search Of Our- "Family Dog"

Living close to the Grand River, with many trails to walk my husband and I decided that we really needed a dog, that loved to roam and walk. We also were looking for German Shephers, Labradors - all of which we hoped were going to be young pups.

We came pretty close to getting a six month old golden Labrador , when it came time to visit and see the dog for visits we didn't get a very good feeling about the dogs care. (we notified a shelter nearby). Least to say we didn't go that route. Or did we find any other pups that came close to a dog we really wanted.

Never giving up, putting the word out to co-workers, family and friends. We had everyone looking for the "dog that suited our home and family".

Miracles Do Happen - Even If It Isn't What You Thought It Would Be

A family member had called the house one Tuesday morning, both my husband and I were off work that day. He wanted to tell us about a two year old dog from Woodstock. He said I thought of the two of you when I heard about the dog.

He went to tell us that for the last two years this dog was registered, had been shown, had papers but was ready to be put down. The family had to give up the farm they lived (for 40 years), move to a very small place and couldn't take the dog.

Than when he said, its a Collie, I don't think I have ever written anything so fast in my life. The name of the people who owned her, the address they lived at and the phone number. He also mentioned, "you better move quick because they move next week".

I didn't even have to say a word to my husband, we both loved Lassie the TV Celebrity dog and to have a dog like that would be wonderful.

I called the lady, wrote all the information down. On that very day we went to see, which soon became, our newest family member.

Briggs came running right to both of us. No jumping just lots of licks and love. (how on earth could I not purchase such a beauty). The owners were the nicest people you could ever meet.

They asked us questions about where we lived, had we ever had a dog, also if they could come for visits? After we put a chain on the dog and went for a nice walk to the corner of the dirt road, we looked at each other and couldn't leave the dog there.

We offered a fair quantity for the dog, they wouldn't take a dime. Just wanted to come and visit. Know their dog would be well taken care of and most of all loved.

Change Isn't Always Easy

I remember the ride home, Brigg's climbed up into the backseat, while they handed the papers for the vet and a bag of food. It was like the dog was looking back at them with a big smile and lots of love. I felt bad for them, I knew they loved their dog.

Taking the dog into the backyard - I remember my husband saying "welcome home young girl".

I thought I would be disappointed not to have a pup, it was actually so much easier. Although the dog still had days of missing the family and the farm, we had lots of brushing and wonderful walks along the trails.

The first vet check went wonderfully. Most of all - our dog completed our home. " My husband - Brigg's (which soon became Bridget) and myself."

The previous owners came a few times, calling Brigg's to come. It was wonderful that no matter how long the time went,she ran to them and loved them so much. They were overjoyed to see the dog settled in and loved, they couldn't ask for anything more. Always hugs to us when they left.

Expanding Our Family - Came Rather Quickly

It was seven and a half months later, our son Daniel had arrived. Bridget would stay by my side. It was adorable how she would be so sympathetic towards me, especially in the mornings when I was nauseous.

In the wee hours of the night, you won't believe it. My water broke all over Bridget. Poor girl, she was cleaned up and started nudging me toward the door.

I gave her a big hug, and good thing she nudged me. In a very short time our beautiful son, 9lbs 10ozs was born. Beautiful dark hair like his dad and big blue eyes like mom.

We felt Daniel was a good name for our boy, we had read many names and their meanings. In this case it meant to be strong. We also didn't know until later it was a good strong name in our family.

Welcome Home Little Brother

From the moment we came home (fear of jealousy of Bridget), Daniel was more supervised and protected not only by mommy and daddy but also his big dog.

If I put the baby in the cradle, Bridget would be right beside him. It was like having a nanny helping you out.

After 17 wonderful years with Bridget, another child we still to this day, think of how blessed our family truly was.

Bridget more than completed our home, he brought so much love and joy to us and even the neighbours. One home was almost robbed ( Bridget barked so loud, the police caught them all)

We layed her to rest a half a mile away from the farm she first grew up on, at a beautiful Pet Cemetary.

Thank you Bridget for making our family complete. Will love you forever and always. 1987-2004

dog
3

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Cathy - Thank you for your lovely story. I can SO relate! I've written a short article 'Rescue~DUDE' on behalf of - Pet Haven Minnesota - that has brought many new-pet homes; that feels so good!: After viewing your 'Topics'... Do you have a 'Favorite' story that you've written? just curious/we all do. Mine is 'FIRED' Best To You, Ms. Chatty~Cathy! Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal 'Senior' Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.