Petlife logo

Every dog and every situation are unique

Did I mention that I'm a wreck personally?

By sara trifPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Every dog and every situation are unique
Photo by Marliese Streefland on Unsplash

Fred has unquestionably saved me rather than the other way around. And the information I've acquired since beginning my studies in dog training has been quite eye-opening. I've become more aware of how similar we truly are as I learn more about rescue dogs, anxious dogs, and reactive dogs.

Although I've always loved animals and have worked as a dog groomer for more than 10 years, adopting my rescue dog Fred truly piqued my interest in canine behavior and training. How can I be sure I'm looking out for his best interests? We should all strive to be the superhero our pets can rely on, go to for help, and check in with.

Did I mention that I'm a wreck personally? I have an eating disorder and social anxiety, which makes me a bad role model. Fortunately, dogs are incredibly intelligent and fiercely loyal.

If dogs don't want to play, don't make them. Not everyone needs to be sociable.

It's common to misunderstand socialization. Yes, we must help our pups and dogs become accustomed to daily life, including other dogs and people walking by. No, we shouldn't be forcing kids to approach every dog we see just to "say hello."

It can have a number of negative repercussions when we force our dogs to approach any and all dogs. Because they can't say hello to everyone they pass, it can frustrate energetic canines who enjoy meeting other dogs and lead to lunging behaviors. However, they believe they can in their minds.

The invasion of their personal space and direct face-to-face contact by any dog, especially a sensitive one, won't be something that the dog will likely enjoy.

Meetups should ideally be under strict management. The dogs ought to be permitted to flee if they so choose.

There are some really welcome pieces about how we don't all have to be extroverts that have appeared as a result of increased understanding of human mental health disorders like anxiety and depression. My ears are singing! I distinctly recall questioning whether I was flawed for just wanting to interact with others when it suited me. No.

My first dog never was friendly. He liked his family, close friends, and a select few. Would I have him go play with other dogs in a room full of dogs and tell him that's what he should be doing? Without a doubt!

Every dog and every situation are unique, although the food aggression is frequently misdiagnosed and can be quite unjust. Some of you may have seen an episode of a recent dog trainer on television that featured a labrador. As a result, there were numerous tweets saying things like, "I guess if someone tried to take my food away from me, I'd snap! ”

The owner believed that in order to avoid these problems, he should try to remove the food after setting it down. Additionally, the dog had earlier discovered a bone that needed to be taken. Consequently, the dog grewled and barked when the man tried to repeatedly take food from it.

I also recall one coworker watching over another coworker's dog while she was away. The dog's owner wondered if perhaps the "food hostile" behavior she described was due to the dog being unaccustomed to a large german shepherd hanging over him while he ate. We decide what they eat, when they sleep and when they go out. Resource defense often results from anxiety because the person is trying to protect something that is important to them. A dog with a history of neglect may develop a possessive relationship with food. This can also include toys, objects, spaces, furniture, and people.

Therefore, I frequently consider enrolling in one of these dog recovery clinics. Eating disorders frequently result from uncontrollable circumstances in our past lives, so we pass to food and eating behaviors to feel more in control. I am about as bad as Fred for wanting to be in my own space to eat, away from other people and unhelpful comments. For one thing, my problems are much greater than his, but I'm confident that he wouldn't mind if I made any comments.

In summary

One of the most important lessons I've learned since continuing my studies of all things canine is that socialization needs to be completely rethought. Keep in mind that we don't have to get along with everyone we encounter, and that it's actually difficult to become friends with and get along with everyone. Therefore, let's be considerate, respectful, and kind to both people and animals.

doghealthhumanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.