Petlife logo

Cats Are Jerks

What I learned living with 4 cats

By Crissy CornwellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
6
Cats Are Jerks
Photo by The Lucky Neko on Unsplash

I am, what my friends consider, a "cat lady" as I have 4 cats and want about 4 more. I have always loved cats; they have such different personalities but know how to help when you are sad. My 4 cats are all very different in personalities, breeds and colors. Tompkins, my oldest boy at 7 years old, I have had for over a year and adopted him from a local shelter. He is an orange and white handsome guy with yellow/green eyes and is very independent, but will come around for pets at least once a day. Missy, my 2 and a half year old baby was also adopted from a local shelter. She is a tortoise shell, multi-colored beauty. If it were up to her, she would never stop being pet and she will put her face in yours and nudge your hand when she wants your attention. Tucker, my Siamese boy, is almost a year old. He is my snuggle bug, always flopping himself into my arms like a baby for love and attention. He is also my biggest cat, even weighing more than my 7 year old and even longer and taller than him too. Tucker is by far my biggest jerk. Then, last but not least, is Bagheera. He is also almost a year old, only 2 weeks younger than Tucker. Bagheera is a Tuxedo, and he is a momma's boy for sure, only letting me hold or pet him.

When I say that cats are jerks, I say it with all the love of a cat mom, and when I say Tucker is my biggest jerk, I say it with every bit of truth I have in me. Tucker will feel like playing while the other cats are sleeping or minding their own business and he will just jump on them and attack them. He is also the one who causes the most destruction by eating my house plants and digging in the dirt to lay in them if they are where they can reach. At night, Tucker likes to throw parties under my bed and make as much noise as possible. No matter how many times I kick him out of my room, he just comes back and does everything all over again. Tucker is also my sweetest boy, like a sour patch kid. He is the one who knows when I need healing and lies on my chest, purring as loud as possible.

Tucker being his adorable self

They say that with children, it is wrong to have a favorite, but when it comes to my cats, I definitely have a favorite. Tompkins is my favorite boy. He is very calm and is the most chill animal I have ever met. He does play every so often, especially when I got a laser to play with them, but he mostly just lays around, and finds me when he wants attention. He also is the loudest when he wants something. He will essentially yell at me with his meows when he is trying to get his treats, and I actually do argue with him, telling him no when its not treat time.

My handsome, sleeping boy

Bagheera is a small cat with a tail that reminds me of a monkey. He chirps all around the house, no matter what he is doing, which makes me believe he is also my happiest cat. He loves to check out all the people who come in my house and will rub up against them, curling his tail around their legs, but if they try to touch him, he will run away. He also doesn't like to be held unless I am the one who holds him, and he will only let me hold him like a baby and pet his belly if I pick him up. He loves to drink water out of the faucet and loves moving water. I do have a fountain waterer for them, but its not quite big enough so I will be getting a bigger one soon. I have actually had to pull him out of the toilet too because he tries to drink from there too when it gets flushed.

Always following me into the bathroom

Missy is the last cat that I got and have only had her for a couple of months, but she fits in so well into my household. She plays with the boys like she has known them her whole life and she is super loving. It is so hard sometimes with how much she wants to have attention because, as I am working, she comes and walks on my computer and kisses my face. I knew Missy was the one just by her picture, but she really solidified that when I went to meet her beautiful self and she flopped herself into my arms and wanted me to pet her belly. Ever since I brought her home, though it took her a couple of days to really come out, she had fit right in with our family. Her and Bagheera have become the closest and act like boyfriend and girlfriend, not fur siblings and I am honestly thinking about having a wedding for them.

My beautiful sweetheart

All 4 of these fluffs are so different, but I love them all so much. Even when they destroy my house right after I clean it, puke because they like to get into things they shouldn't, or jump all over me in the middle of the night, making as much noise as they can, I wouldn't trade any of them for the world!

cat
6

About the Creator

Crissy Cornwell

Single mom, writer, singer, cat lady

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.